The Innocent

The Innocent

Laura Antonelli
Director: Luchino Visconti Cast: Laura Antonelli
Laura Antonelli
, Giancarlo Giannini
Giancarlo Giannini
, Jennifer O'Neill
Jennifer O'Neill
Luchino Visconti


View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Friday, May 20


Based on a novel by Gabriele d'Annunzio, The Innocent (L'Innocente) is set amongst the aristocracy of 19th-century Italy. Wealthy Tullio (Giancarlo Giannini) thinks nothing of squiring his mistress (Jennifer O'Neill) in full view of his friends and the public. But when Giannini's cast-off wife (Laura Antonelli) begins an affair with a young novelist (based, it is said, on author d'Annunzio), it is too much for the philandering aristocrat. Outside of Erich von Stroheim, few directors were as masterful at combining lavishness with depravity as Luchino Visconti. The Innocent turned out to be Visconti's last film; he died in 1976, shortly before the picture's premiere.

Related collections and offers

Product Details

Release Date: 07/14/2020
UPC: 0850003924847
Original Release: 1976
Rating: R
Source: Film Movement
Region Code: 0
Time: 2:09:00
Sales rank: 46,522

Special Features

Reframing L'innocente video essay by author Ivo Blom

Cast & Crew

Performance Credits
Laura Antonelli Giuliana
Giancarlo Giannini Tullio
Jennifer O'Neill Teresa Raffo
Marc Porel Writer
Massimo Girotti Count
Rina Morelli Mother
Didier Haudepin Federico Hermil
Marie Dubois The Princess
Roberta Paladini Miss Elviretta
Claude Mann The Prince
Philippe Hersent Actor
Siria Betti Actor
Alessandra Vazzoler Actor
Marina Pierro Actor
Vittorio Zarfati Actor
Margherita Horowitz Actor

Technical Credits
Luchino Visconti Director,Screenwriter
Giovanni Bertolucci Producer
Suso Cecchi D'Amico Screenwriter
Pasqualino De Santis Cinematographer
Mario Garbuglia Art Director
Franco Mannino Score Composer
Ruggero Mastroianni Editor
Enrico Medioli Screenwriter
Piero Tosi Costumes/Costume Designer

Scene Index

Disc #1 -- L'Innocente
1. Concert [11:53]
2. The Affair [8:16]
3. Return To Rome [12:41]
4. Secrets [9:34]
5. Visiting Mother [12:06]
6. Lovers [12:17]
7. The Pregnancy [6:13]
8. News Of Filippo [15:05]
9. The Child [9:51]
10. Christmas Mass [15:28]
11. Conclusion [12:21]
12. Credits [3:06]

Customer Reviews