The Grass Is Greener

The Grass Is Greener

Cary Grant
Director: Stanley Donen Cast: Cary Grant
Cary Grant
, Deborah Kerr
Deborah Kerr
, Robert Mitchum
Robert Mitchum
Stanley Donen

DVD (Wide Screen)

$18.19 $19.99 Save 9% Current price is $18.19, Original price is $19.99. You Save 9%.
View All Available Formats & Editions


A rousing chorus of Noël Coward's "Stately Homes of England" is heard as the opening titles of The Grass Is Greener fade into several stock shots of those stately homes. One of these mansions is owned by British earl Victor Rhyall (Cary Grant), who opens his home to American tourists in order to make ends meet. One such tourist is wealthy Texan Charles Delacro (Robert Mitchum), who sets his sights upon Victor's lovely wife, Hilary (Deborah Kerr). In his efforts to win back his wife, Victor presses his former girlfriend Hattie Durant (Jean Simmons) into service. The Grass Is Greener was adapted by Hugh and Margaret Williams from their own stage play.

Product Details

Release Date: 05/28/2013
UPC: 0887090064903
Original Release: 1961
Rating: NR
Source: Olive Films
Region Code: 1
Presentation: [Wide Screen]
Time: 1:44:00

Cast & Crew

Performance Credits
Cary Grant Victor Rhyall
Deborah Kerr Hilary Rhyall
Robert Mitchum Charles Delacro
Jean Simmons Hattie Durant
Moray Watson Trevor Sellers

Technical Credits
Stanley Donen Director,Producer
Eric Allwright Makeup
Hardy Amies Costumes/Costume Designer
Christopher G. Challis Cinematographer
Jim Clark Editor
Noël Coward Score Composer
John Cox Sound/Sound Designer
Austin Dempster Camera Operator
Christian Dior Costumes/Costume Designer
Vernon Dixon Set Decoration/Design
Muir Mathieson Musical Direction/Supervision
John W. Mitchell Sound/Sound Designer
John O'Gorman Makeup
Paul Sheriff Art Director
Roy Stevens Asst. Director
James Ware Associate Producer
Hugh Williams Screenwriter
Margaret Williams Screenwriter

Scene Index

Disc #1 -- The Grass is Greener
1. Chapter I [9:23]
2. Chapter II [22:30]
3. Chapter III [19:12]
4. Chapter IV [8:54]
5. Chapter V [13:06]
6. Chapter VI [7:16]
7. Chapter VII [13:00]
8. Chapter VIII [11:24]

Customer Reviews