The Day After

The Day After

Jason Robards Jr.
Director: Nicholas Meyer Cast: Jason Robards Jr.
Jason Robards Jr.
, JoBeth Williams
JoBeth Williams
, Steve Guttenberg
Steve Guttenberg
Nicholas Meyer
56 New & Used Starting at $1.99


One of the most harrowing cinematic studies in the effect of nuclear war on the human race, The Day After comes to DVD courtesy of Metro Goldwyn Mayer Home Entertainment. Presented as originally aired in 1.33:1 full-frame, the image is near flawless. Color balance is even, skin tones accurate, and there appears to be little if any evidence of edge enhancement or digital artifacting. A solid English Dolby Digital Mono audio mix rounds the disc out nicely, remaining free of distortion or hiss throughout. The fact that The Day After was one of the most controversial telefilms ever produced (during the original airing there were no commercials following the nuclear attack sequence) makes the absence of extra features something of a curiosity; it certainly would have been interesting had MGM seen fit to include the televised discussion between Dr. Carl Sagan and William F. Buckley that followed the original airing.

Product Details

Release Date: 05/18/2004
UPC: 0027616911254
Original Release: 1983
Rating: NR
Source: Mgm (Video & Dvd)
Region Code: 1
Time: 2:07:00

Special Features

Closed Caption; [None specified]

Cast & Crew

Performance Credits
Jason Robards Dr. Russell Oakes
JoBeth Williams Nacy Bauer
Steve Guttenberg Stephen Klein
John Cullum Jim Dahlberg
John Lithgow Joe Huxley
Amy Madigan Alison Ransom
William Allen Young Actor
Calvin Jung Actor
Lin McCarthy Actor
Dennis Lipscomb Actor
Clayton Day Actor
Bibi Besch Eve Dahlberg
Jeff East Bruce Gallatin
Georgann Johnson Helen Oakes
Lori Lethin Denise Dahlberg

Technical Credits
Nicholas Meyer Director
William P. Dornisch Editor
Robert Florio Editor
Edward C. Hume Screenwriter
Robert A. Papazian Producer
David Raksin Score Composer
Gayne Rescher Cinematographer
Peter W. Wooley Production Designer

Scene Index

Side #1 --
1. Ordinary Day/Main Title [6:29]
2. Art History [7:16]
3. The Silos [5:20]
4. Stage 2 Alert [6:38]
5. Grim Outlook [6:50]
6. Evacuation [6:09]
7. Emergency Broadcast [6:17]
8. First Strike [7:14]
9. Panic in the Streets [3:12]
10. The Unthinkable [3:12]
11. Nuclear Winter [6:50]
12. The Fallout [7:05]
13. Repaying a Debt [5:31]
14. A World Gone Mad [6:58]
15. The Survivors [5:50]
16. Presidential Address [5:52]
17. No Trespassing [7:16]
18. Going Home [6:58]
19. Life [6:20]
20. Hope/End Credits [7:01]

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews