The Bugle Sounds

The Bugle Sounds

Wallace Beery
Director: S. Sylvan Simon Cast: Wallace Beery
Wallace Beery
, Marjorie Main
Marjorie Main
, George Bancroft
George Bancroft
S. Sylvan Simon

DVD (Full Frame)

Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


By 1941, Wallace Beery was pretty much confined to playing two characters: The reprobate with the heart of gold, or the old-line martinet who resents the incursions of progress. In The Bugle Sounds, Beery opted for characterization #2, playing entrenched Cavalry sergeant Hap Doan. Accustomed to horses and horsemen, Sgt. Doan has a great deal of trouble adjusting themselves to those newfangled armored cars and tanks that the modern Army has introduced to his troops. By the time he's seen the error of his ways and entered the 20th century, old Hap has somehow gotten himself mixed up with enemy saboteurs. The secondary love interest in The Bugle Sounds is handled by William Lundigan and Donna Reed, while Wally Beery is offered a more mature amour in the form of boisterous Marjorie Main.

Product Details

Release Date: 07/28/2015
UPC: 0888574284992
Original Release: 1941
Source: Warner Archives
Presentation: [Full Frame]
Time: 1:42:00
Sales rank: 45,022

Cast & Crew

Performance Credits
Wallace Beery "Hap" Doan
Marjorie Main Susie
George Bancroft Russell
Henry O'Neill Lieutenant Colonel Seton
Donna Reed Sally Hanson
Chill Wills Dillon
William Lundigan Joe Hanson
Tom Dugan Sgt. Strong
Guinn "Big Boy" Williams Krims
Ernest Whitman Cartaret
Roman Bohnen Leech
Jerome Cowan Nichols
Arthur Space Hank
Jonathan Hale Brigadier-General
Lewis Stone Col. Lawton
Grant Withers Actor

Technical Credits
S. Sylvan Simon Director
Clyde de Vinna Cinematographer
Arnold A. Gillespie Special Effects
Lennie Hayton Score Composer
Cyril Hume Screenwriter
Lawrence Kimble Screenwriter
Ben Lewis Editor
J. Walter Ruben Producer

Scene Index

Disc #1 -- The Bugle Sounds
1. Chapter 1 [8:08]
2. Chapter 2 [8:46]
3. Chapter 3 [6:48]
4. Chapter 4 [7:13]
5. Chapter 5 [9:38]
6. Chapter 6 [8:08]
7. Chapter 7 [6:18]
8. Chapter 8 [11:44]
9. Chapter 9 [7:42]
10. Chapter 10 [6:45]
11. Chapter 11 [7:18]
12. Chapter 12 [7:28]
13. Chapter 13 [5:01]
14. Chapter 14 [:36]

Customer Reviews