The Buddha of Suburbia

The Buddha of Suburbia

Director: Roger Michell Cast: Roshan Seth, Naveen Andrews, Susan Fleetwood



In the new tradition of "Tales of the City," this long, complex British satire profiles a decade in the life of a British family. The story opens in a South London suburb where main protagonist Karim Amir lives with his Indian father, Haroon, and his English mother during the 1970's. Haroon is a civil servant who makes extra cash, and gains notoriety for teaching "Eastern Philosophies," of which he knows nothing. Still, as Buddhism is in fashion, people pay him a bundle to hear his vapid, happy ramblings. When not preaching, Haroon is trysting with a rich follower, Eva Kay. Karim's mother learns of the affair and leaves with his younger brother. Karim stays with his father and his new love. He begins a career on the stage. The story also follows Charlie, Eva's boy as he aspires to become a rocker. Other plots and subplots abound in this film.

Product Details

Release Date: 05/27/2008
UPC: 0883929014323
Original Release: 1993
Rating: NR
Source: Bbc Warner
Region Code: 1
Sound: [Dolby Digital Stereo]
Time: 3:58:00

Special Features

Writer/director audio commentary; David Bowe music video

Cast & Crew

Performance Credits
Roshan Seth Haroon Amir
Naveen Andrews Karim Amir
Susan Fleetwood Eva Kay
Steven Mackintosh Charlie Kay
Brenda Blethyn Margaret Amir
John McEnery Uncle Ted
Janet Dale Auntie Jean
Nisha K. Nayar Jamila
Buddy Uzzaman Anwar
David Bamber Shadwell
Donald Sumpter Matthew Pyke
Jemma Redgrave Eleanor
Harish Patel Changez

Technical Credits
Roger Michell Director,Screenwriter
David Bowie Score Composer
Alexandra Byrne Costumes/Costume Designer
Kate Evans Editor
Anna Kalnars Associate Producer
Hanif Kureishi Screenwriter
Kevin Loader Producer
Marilyn Macdonald Makeup
John McGlashan Cinematographer
Michael Wearing Producer

Scene Index

Disc #1 -- The Buddha of Suburbia
1. Going Out [5:10]
2. Weird Gets Loose [13:01]
3. Family Life [2:39]
4. Another Party [10:09]
5. Auntie Jean [3:00]
6. Releasing Ted [8:03]
7. Uncle Anwar [5:47]
8. Popular Charlie [5:42]
1. Changez [6:34]
2. A New Friend [5:18]
3. Jean Leaves [4:27]
4. Family Trouble [6:31]
5. Visiting Mum [11:57]
6. Redecorating [9:23]
7. Moving to London [4:52]
8. Eye Opener [4:42]
Disc #2 -- The Buddha of Suburbia
1. House Warming [7:39]
2. Rehearsal [6:53]
3. Charlie's Gig [9:19]
4. A New Play [7:18]
5. My Name is Anwar [4:48]
6. Asking Permission [6:32]
7. A New Subject [2:52]
8. Dinner Party [8:37]
1. Heart Attack [6:12]
2. Love is Love [4:22]
3. Opening Night [5:39]
4. Money [6:57]
5. New York [12:04]
6. Coming Home [6:33]
7. Kiss Me [6:19]
8. Restaurant [5:57]

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews