The Bridge of San Luis Rey

The Bridge of San Luis Rey

Director: Mary McGuckian Cast: Robert De Niro, F. Murray Abraham, Kathy Bates


$17.99 View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Thursday, November 21


Thornton Wilder's award-winning novel is given a lavish screen adaptation in this historical drama from writer and director Mary McGuckian. In Peru in 1714, a rickety bridge collapsed as five people were attempting to cross, forcing them to plunge to their deaths. Brother Fray Juniper (Gabriel Byrne) is a Franciscan monk who has been given the duty of looking into the tragedy by the archbishop of Lima (Robert De Niro), and to learn what he can about the victims. It is Juniper's belief that these particular people died for some reason, and that it is his duty to determine why God chose these five people to perish, while others in the vicinity survived. After five years, Juniper delivers his findings to the archbishop as well as the viceroy of Peru (F. Murray Abraham), as Juniper tells them of the lives of the troubled Dona Maria (Kathy Bates), the nun Pepita (Adriana Dominguez), warm-hearted Uncle Pio (Harvey Keitel), street kid-turned-actress La Perichola (Pilar Lopez de Ayala), and others involved in the tragedy. The Bridge of San Luis Rey also features Geraldine Chaplin, John Lynch, and brothers Mark Polish and Michael Polish.

Product Details

Release Date: 11/07/2017
UPC: 0888574564728
Original Release: 2004
Source: Warner Archives
Time: 2:00:00
Sales rank: 62,877

Cast & Crew

Performance Credits
Robert De Niro Archbishop of Lima
F. Murray Abraham Viceroy
Kathy Bates Dona Maria
Gabriel Byrne Brother Fray Juniper
Geraldine Chaplin Abbess
Émilie Dequenne Dona Clara
Adriana Dominguez Pepita
Harvey Keitel Uncle Pio
Pilar López de Ayala La Perichola
John Lynch Captain Alvarado
Mark Polish Manuel
Michael Polish Esteban
Samuel Le Bihan Actor
Dominique Pinon Actor
Jim Sheridan Actor

Technical Credits
Mary McGuckian Director,Producer,Screenwriter
Jeff Abberley Executive Producer
Javier Aguirresarobe Cinematographer
Yvonne Blake Costumes/Costume Designer
Elvira Bolz Co-producer
Michael Lionella Cowan Producer
Craig C. Darian Executive Producer
Linda de Vetta Makeup
Peter Glossop Sound/Sound Designer
Victor Hadida Executive Producer
Samuel Hadida Producer
Howard Kazanjian Executive Producer
Alexander W. Kogan Associate Producer
Sylvie Landra Editor
Garrett McGuckian Producer
Denise O'dell Producer
Kant Pan Editor
Gil Parrondo Art Director,Production Designer
Peter James Executive Producer
Jason Piette Co-producer
Lalo Schifrin Score Composer
James Simpson Executive Producer

Scene Index

Disc #1 -- The Bridge of San Luis Rey
1. Opening Credits [:09]
2. Sheer Treachery [6:17]
3. Insufficient Allowance [5:53]
4. Entirely Unsuited [6:47]
5. The Most Delightful Man [5:13]
6. Passionate [5:41]
7. La Perichole [6:06]
8. The Brothers [8:05]
9. Complicated Pleasure [3:54]
10. Resorted to Experiment [8:18]
11. An Injury [4:05]
12. The Carnival [6:06]
13. Secrets of the Dead [4:43]
14. Taken Into God's Hands [6:15]
15. The Basis of Attachment [5:11]
16. Strong Fellows [6:55]
17. The Bridge of San Luis Rey [8:36]
18. Shut Off From the World [5:51]
19. God's Design [6:42]
20. End Credits [2:42]
21. Chapter 21 [6:15]

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews