The Ballad of Narayama

The Ballad of Narayama

Kinuyo Tanaka
Director: Keisuke Kinoshita Cast: Kinuyo Tanaka
Kinuyo Tanaka
, Teiji Takahashi
Teiji Takahashi
, Yuko Mochizuki
Yuko Mochizuki
Keisuke Kinoshita

DVD (Color / Wide Screen)

$18.39 $19.99 Save 8% Current price is $18.39, Original price is $19.99. You Save 8%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


Adapted from a novel by Shichiro Fukazawa, The Ballad of Narayama is built around an ancient Japanese custom. Centuries ago, it was customary for the younger citizens of a remote Japanese mountain village to shepherd all those over the age of seventy to the snowy crags of Mt. Narayama. There the elders would be left to die from exposure and starvation--a fate they were expected to meet with stoic resignation. As the film observes, this custom was not universally accepted even in ancient times: Some of the old folks put up a physical struggle against their exile, others accept the inevitable under verbal protest, and some of the younger relatives question whether they have the right to go along with this questionable "cleansing" process. Heartbreakingly brilliant, The Ballad of Narayama was remade in 1983; the latter version won the Grand Prize at the Cannes Film Festival.

Product Details

Release Date: 02/05/2013
UPC: 0715515102612
Original Release: 1958
Rating: NR
Source: Criterion
Region Code: 1
Presentation: [Wide Screen, Color]
Sound: [Dolby Digital Mono]
Time: 1:38:00
Sales rank: 5,168

Special Features

New 2K Digital Master From The 2011 Restoration; Trailer And Teaser

Cast & Crew

Scene Index

Disc #1 -- The Ballad of Narayama
1. Orin Of The Tree Stump [6:56]
2. News For Tatsuhei [6:27]
3. Thirty-Three Demon Teeth [4:17]
4. Old Friend [4:06]
5. A Hearty Welcome [6:10]
6. Shame [8:01]
7. Autumn Harvest [7:24]
8. Thieves [5:37]
9. Faith [8:47]
10. Judgment [3:15]
11. Rules Of The Journey [9:51]
12. Mata's Escape [2:06]
13. Fateful Day [8:37]
14. The Ascent [8:33]
15. Blessed [8:09]
1. Color Bars [:20]

Customer Reviews