The Attic: The Hiding of Anne Frank

The Attic: The Hiding of Anne Frank

Director: John Erman Cast: Paul Scofield, Mary Steenburgen, Victor Spinetti


3 New & Used Starting at $4.94


This 1988 TV movie covers much of the same ground previously assessed in the stage and movie versions of The Diary of Anne Frank. The principal difference is that this adaptation is told from the point of view of Miep Gies (Mary Steenburgen), the courageous Dutch gentile who, together with her husband (Huub Stapel) risked her life by hiding the Jewish Frank family in the attic of an Amsterdam office building during World War 2. We see how Gies and other good Samaritans attempted to protect and provide sustenance for their Jewish neighbors, right under the noses of the Gestapo. Paul Scofield co-stars as Otto Frank, while his daughter Anne is played by newcomer Lisa Jacobs. Like George Stevens' 1959 filmization of Diary of Anne Frank, this film was made on location. Unlike Stevens' film, The Attic: The Hiding of Anne Frank is based not on Anne's diary but on Miep Gies' memoirs, Anne Frank Remembered.

Product Details

Release Date: 08/05/2014
UPC: 0096009307349
Original Release: 1988
Rating: NR
Source: Echo Bridge
Time: 1:38:00

Cast & Crew

Performance Credits
Paul Scofield Otto Frank
Mary Steenburgen Miep Gies
Victor Spinetti Actor
Eleanor Bron Actor
Huub Stapel Actor
Frances Cuka Actor
Lisa Jacobs Anne Frank
Ronald Pickup Actor
Miriam Karlin Actor
Gary Raymond Actor
Tom Wilkinson Actor

Technical Credits
John Erman Director
Richard Rodney Bennett Score Composer
Timothy J. Fee Producer
Nick Gillott Producer
Alison Leslie Gold Associate Producer
William Hanley Teleplay
Peter Jackson Cinematographer
Marjorie Kalins Producer
Kenneth Kaufman Executive Producer
Michael Lepiner Executive Producer
Jerrold L. Ludwig Editor
Malcolm Middleton Production Designer

Scene Index

Disc #1 -- The Attic: The Hiding of Anne Frank
1. Chapter 1 [9:59]
2. Chapter 2 [10:00]
3. Chapter 3 [9:59]
4. Chapter 4 [10:00]
5. Chapter 5 [9:59]
6. Chapter 6 [9:59]
7. Chapter 7 [10:00]
8. Chapter 8 [9:59]
9. Chapter 9 [10:00]
10. Chapter 10 [8:03]

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews