Susan Slept Here

Susan Slept Here

Dick Powell
Director: Frank Tashlin Cast: Dick Powell
Dick Powell
, Debbie Reynolds
Debbie Reynolds
, Anne Francis
Anne Francis
Frank Tashlin

DVD (Remastered / Full Frame)

View All Available Formats & Editions
Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


Susan Slept Here is the only feature film in Hollywood history ever to be narrated by an Academy Award. After introducing itself, the Oscar statuette invites us into the apartment home of its owner, screenwriter Mark Christopher Dick Powell. Knowing that Mark is working on a script about juvenile deliquency, policeman Sam Hanlon Herb Vigran deposits teenaged troublemaker Susan Landis Debbie Reynolds on Mark's doorstep. Somewhat terrified by Susan's erratic behavior, Mark vows to keep their relationship platonic, but his fiancee Isabella Anne Francis suspects the worst. Director Frank Tashlin aims his satiric barbs at psychiatry, conspicuous consumption and Hollywood itself. The spirited supporting cast includes Glenda Farrell, Alvy Moore, Horace McMahon and Les Tremayne.

Product Details

Release Date: 11/09/2010
UPC: 0883316288023
Original Release: 1954
Rating: NR
Source: Warner Archives
Presentation: [Full Frame]
Time: 1:38:00
Sales rank: 2,073

Cast & Crew

Performance Credits
Dick Powell Mark
Debbie Reynolds Susan
Anne Francis Isabella
Alvy Moore Virgil
Glenda Farrell Maude
Horace McMahon Maizel
Herb Vigran Hanlon
Les Tremayne Harvey
Mara Lane Marilyn
Maide Norman Georgette
Rita Johnson Dr. Johnson
Ellen Corby Waitress
Benny Rubin Janitor
Barbara Darrow Legal Secretary
Sue Carlton Cashier
Oliver Blake Motel Manager
Louella Parsons Telephone Voice
Jack Benny Guest
Red Skelton Oswald
Billy Halop Waiter

Technical Credits
Frank Tashlin Director
Constantin Bakaleinikoff Musical Direction/Supervision
Mel Berns Makeup
Carroll Clark Art Director
Albert S. D'Agostino Art Director
Steve Fisher Screenwriter
Alex Gottlieb Screenwriter
Leigh Harline Score Composer
Jack Lawrence Score Composer,Songwriter
Harry Marker Editor
Frank McWhorter Sound/Sound Designer
Nick Musuraca Cinematographer
Richard Myers Score Composer,Songwriter
Al Orenbach Set Decoration/Design
Harriet Parsons Producer
Clem Portman Sound/Sound Designer
Robert Sidney Choreography
Darrell Silvera Set Decoration/Design
Michael Woulfe Costumes/Costume Designer

Customer Reviews