B&N Audiobooks Subscription = SAVINGS. Sign Up Today for a Free Book!
Snow in August

Snow in August

Stephen Rea
Director: Richard Friedenberg Cast: Stephen Rea
Stephen Rea
, Lolita Davidovich
Lolita Davidovich
, Harvey Berger
Harvey Berger
Richard Friedenberg

DVD (Mono)

Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Wednesday, July 6


A boy learning the lessons of the Torah wonders if they can be used to avenge an attack on his best friend in this drama based on the novel by Pete Hamill. Michael (Peter Tambakis) is an 11-year-old boy growing up in an Irish Catholic neighborhood in Brooklyn in 1947. While looking for a place to get out of the weather in the midst of a freak snowstorm, Michael meets Judah Hirsch (Stephen Rea), a rabbi from Czechoslovakia, and the two become unlikely friends. Judah fascinates Michael with tales from Jewish folklore, and Michael gives Judah a crash course in the finer points of baseball. But not everyone in Michael's neighborhood is as open-minded as he is, and Judah is attacked by a gang of anti-Semitic toughs. As Judah's life lies in the balance, Michael wonders if Judah's tales of magic and mysticism might hold a key to getting justice for his friend. Snow in August also features Lolita Davidovich as Michael's mother.

Related collections and offers

Product Details

Release Date: 06/03/2003
UPC: 0758445306620
Original Release: 2001
Rating: NR
Source: Showtime Ent.
Region Code: 1
Sound: [monaural, Dolby Surround]
Time: 1:45:00
Sales rank: 48,309

Special Features

Closed Caption; In-depth filmographies; Extensive photo gallery

Cast & Crew

Performance Credits
Stephen Rea Rabbi Judah Hirsch
Lolita Davidovich Kate Devlin
Harvey Berger Mr. G.
Howard Bilerman Mr. Edelbaum
Tony Calabretta Costello
Claudia Ferri Leah
Michel Perron Priest
Kent McQuaid Falcon

Technical Credits
Richard Friedenberg Director,Screenwriter
Jake Eberts Producer

Scene Index

Side #1 --
1. Mr. G's [5:01]
2. I'm Not Gonna Squeal [10:29]
3. The Treasure [9:14]
4. Language Lessons [6:52]
5. What God Gives [7:06]
6. Creating a Golem [11:07]
7. Leah Hirsch [10:52]
8. No Witnesses [8:52]
9. The Secret Name of God [11:35]
10. The Golem [11:15]
11. God Exists [9:22]
12. Credits [3:01]

Customer Reviews