Simple Men

Simple Men

Director: Hal Hartley Cast: Robert John Burke, Bill Sage, Karen Sillas

DVD (Wide Screen)

View All Available Formats & Editions


This typically off-kilter satiric comedy from filmmaker Hal Hartley has been given a simple, but effective, presentation for its release on DVD. Simple Men has been given a letterboxed transfer in the widescreen aspect ratio of 1.85:1. Viewers have a choice of two audio formats: Dolby Digital 5.1 and DTS 5.1. The dialogue is in English, with optional English subtitles. As a bonus, this edition also includes the film's original trailer and a short documentary on the making of the movie.

Product Details

Release Date: 01/27/2004
UPC: 0014381195729
Original Release: 1992
Rating: R
Source: Image Entertainment
Region Code: 1
Presentation: [Wide Screen]
Sound: [Dolby Digital Mono]
Time: 1:45:00

Special Features

Closed Caption; Behind-the-scenes featurette; Theatrical trailer

Cast & Crew

Performance Credits
Robert John Burke Bill McCabe
Bill Sage Dennis McCabe
Karen Sillas Kate
Elina Löwensohn Elina
Mark Chandler Bailey Mike
Martin Donovan Martin
Chris Cooke Vic
John A. MacKay Dad-William McCabe, Sr.
Jeffrey Howard Ned Rifle
Holly Marie Combs Kim
Joe Stevens Jack
Damian Young Sheriff
Marietta Marich Mom (Meg)
Bethany Wright Mary
Richard Reyes Security Guard
James Prince Frank
Vivian Lanko Nun
Alissa Alban Waitress
Jo Perkins Nurse Otto
Mary McKenzie Vera
Matt Malloy Boyish Cop
Ed Geldart Cop at Desk
Margaret Bowman Nurse Louise

Technical Credits
Hal Hartley Director,Editor,Producer,Screenwriter
Jerome Brownstein Producer
Therese DePrez Art Director
Steve Hamilton Editor
Hartmann Set Decoration/Design
Ted Hope Producer
Daniel Ouellette Production Designer
Ned Rifle Score Composer
Michael Spiller Cinematographer
Bruce Weiss Producer
Alexandra Welker Costumes/Costume Designer

Scene Index

Side #1 --
1. Opening Titles [1:41]
2. The Radical Shortstop [9:56]
3. Sagaponack, Long Island [5:25]
4. In Pain [5:18]
5. There's Nothing but Trouble and Desire [4:25]
6. Team Mulligan [12:20]
7. Parlez-Vous Français? [3:32]
8. Making Friends [8:15]
9. Loquacious Lawman [5:39]
10. Enigmatic Elina [8:03]
11. I Can't Stand the Quiet! [5:19]
12. Waiting for Bill [8:34]
13. A Boat Named Tara [7:49]
14. Anarchy [15:22]
15. End Credits [3:21]

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews