B&N Audiobooks Subscription = SAVINGS. Sign Up Today for a Free Book!
Shining Through

Shining Through

Michael Douglas
Director: David Seltzer Cast: Michael Douglas
Michael Douglas
, Melanie Griffith
Melanie Griffith
, Liam Neeson
Liam Neeson
David Seltzer

DVD (Wide Screen)

Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Thursday, July 7


Kewpie-doll voiced Melanie Griffith does a sexed-up Nancy Drew turn in David Seltzer's adaptation of Susan Issacs' novel Shining Through. Set during World war II, Griffith plays Linda Voss, a spunky New York girl who applies for a job with international lawyer Ed Leland (Michael Douglas). Ed hires her immediately when he finds out that she speaks German fluently. The reason Ed is so interested in Linda's language skills is because Ed is an undercover OSS officer who needs a German translator. Their business relationship translates into love, but when America enters the war, Ed abandons his law practice to become a full-time spy. Utilizing Linda's charms, she travels to Berlin and infiltrates the Nazis as a domestic to try to discover information about "a bomb that can fly by itself." But Linda has personal as well as patriotic motives for agreeing to go undercover, since she has Jewish relatives in Berlin and wants to find out their whereabouts.

Related collections and offers

Product Details

Release Date: 01/11/2005
UPC: 0024543130901
Original Release: 1992
Rating: R
Source: 20Th Century Fox
Region Code: 1
Presentation: [Wide Screen]
Sound: [Dolby Digital Mono, Dolby Digital Stereo, Dolby Digital 5.1 Surround]
Time: 2:12:00
Sales rank: 5,961

Special Features

Closed Caption; [None specified]

Cast & Crew

Performance Credits
Michael Douglas Ed Leland
Melanie Griffith Linda Voss
Liam Neeson Franze-Otto Dietrich
Joely Richardson Margrete Von Eberstien
John Gielgud Sunflower
Francis Guinan Andrew Berringer
Patrick Winczewski Fishmonger
Mary Gail Artz Actor
Andrzej Borkowski German Refugee
Barbara Cohen Actor
Simon de Deney S.S. Man
Roland Nitschke Horst Drescher
Simone Reynolds Actor
Hans-Martin Stier Truck Driver
Anthony Walters Dietrich's Son
Nigel Whitmey 1st GI in Canteen
Victoria Shalet Dietrich's Daughter
Sheila Allen Olga Leiner
Stanley Beard Linda's Father
Sylvia Syms Linda's Mother
Hansi Jochmann Hedda Drescher
Peter Flechtner S.S. Officer at Fishmonger
Alexander Hauff S.S. Officer at Fishmonger
Claus Plankers S.S. Officer at Fishmonger
Dana Gladstone Street Agitator
Lorinne Vozoff Personnel Director
Mathieu Carrière Von Haefler
Deirdre Harrison USO Singer
Wolf Kahler Border Commandant
William Hope Kernohan
Rob Freeman 2nd GI in Canteen
Lisa Orgolini Girl in Canteen
Jay Benedict Wisecracker in War Room
Thomas Kretschmann Man at Zurich Station
Klaus Munster Cab Driver
Markus Napier S.S. Officer
Constanze Engelbrecht Stayson Von Neest
Martin Hoppe German Soldier
Fritz Eggert German Soldier
Ludwig Haas Adolf Hitler
Clement Von Franckenstein BBC Interviewer
Lorelei King Leland's New Secretary
Wolfgang Heger Bus Conductor Kinderstrasse
Michael Gempart Man at Kinderstrasse
Hana-Maria Pravda Babysitter
Lutz Weillich Train Station Guard
Markus Kissling Swiss Border Guard
Anna Tzelniker Cleaning Woman
Tusse Silberg Woman Dinner Guest at Drescher's
Suzanne Roquette Woman Dinner Guest at Drescher's
Janis Martin Opera Singer
Wolfe Morris Male Translator
John Forristal Actor

Technical Credits
David Seltzer Director,Producer,Screenwriter
Marit Allen Costumes/Costume Designer
Carol Baum Producer
Richard Conway Special Effects
Desmond Crowe Art Director
Jan de Bont Cinematographer
Naomi Donne Makeup
Don French Asst. Director
Sandy Gallin Producer
Peter Howitt Set Decoration/Design
Michael Kamen Score Composer
Craig McKay Editor
Kevin Phipps Art Director
Anthony Pratt Production Designer
Zvi Howard Rosenman Producer
Ivan Sharrock Sound/Sound Designer
Nigel Wooll Co-producer

Scene Index

Side #1 --
1. Main Titles/Dreams of Rescue [6:51]
2. A Fateful Meeting [7:09]
3. Curious Behavior [10:43]
4. War Begins [1:39]
5. The USO [2:44]
6. Becoming a Spy [7:39]
7. Entry Into Germany [1:02]
8. Preparations [3:48]
9. Making a New Contact [4:15]
10. Increasing Danger [5:42]
11. Secret Rooms [3:02]
12. Late Nights [4:31]
13. Betrayals [8:43]
14. Deadly Struggle [2:59]
15. Safe at Home [10:18]
16. End Credits [1:27]

Customer Reviews