Seven Sinners

Seven Sinners

Marlene Dietrich
Director: Tay Garnett Cast: Marlene Dietrich
Marlene Dietrich
, John Wayne
John Wayne
, Broderick Crawford
Broderick Crawford
Tay Garnett

Blu-ray (Subtitled)

View All Available Formats & Editions
Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


Set in the South Seas, Seven Sinners stars Marlene Dietrich as a cabaret singer whose reputation as a troublemaker has gotten her kicked out of one port of call after another. Once more causing a riot, Dietrich takes refuge on the first ship out, together with her underhanded cohorts Broderick Crawford and Mischa Auer. During her next stopover at the Seven Sinners Cafe, Dietrich meets handsome Naval officer John Wayne. He falls in love with her, much to the consternation of island governor Samuel S. Hinds, who knows that any romantic entanglement with Dietrich invariably results in dissension, disarray and brawls. He tells her to lay off Wayne or she'll be deported. But Dietrich insists upon performing one last song for the Duke...and sure as shootin', a battle royal ensues. This time, however, Wayne works tirelessly behind the scenes to solve everyone's problems. Maintaining the fascination level of Seven Sinners is a limitless array of top character actors, including Oscar Homolka, Billy Gilbert, Albert Dekker and Reginald Denny. The film was remade in 1950 as South Sea Sinner, starring Shelley Winters and--are you holding on to something?--Liberace.

Product Details

Release Date: 11/03/2020
UPC: 0738329251307
Original Release: 1940
Rating: NR
Source: Kl Studio Classics
Region Code: A
Time: 2:17:00
Sales rank: 16,310

Special Features

Audio Commentary by Film Historian David Del Valle and Author/Screenwriter C. Courtney Joyner; Theatrical Trailer

Cast & Crew

Performance Credits
Marlene Dietrich Bijou Blanche
John Wayne Lt. Dan Brent
Broderick Crawford Edward Patrick "Little Ned"
Mischa Auer Sasha
Albert Dekker Dr. Martin
Billy Gilbert Tony
Oscar Homolka Antro
Anna Lee Dorothy Henderson
Samuel S. Hinds Governor
Reginald Denny Capt. Church
Vince Barnett Bartender
Herbert Rawlinson 1st Mate
James Craig Ensign
William Bakewell Ensign
Antonio Moreno Rubio
Russell Hicks 1st Governor
Richard Carle District Officer
William B. Davidson Police chief
Willie Fung Shopkeeper
Harry Seymour Piano Player

Technical Credits
Tay Garnett Director
Ladislas Fodor Original Story
Frederick Hollander Songwriter
Irene Costumes/Costume Designer
Ted Kent Editor
Frank Loesser Songwriter
Rudolph Maté Cinematographer
John Meehan Screenwriter
Martin Obzina Production Designer
Jack Otterson Art Director
Joe Pasternak Producer
Charles Previn Musical Direction/Supervision
Hans J. Salter Score Composer
Frank Skinner Score Composer
Harry Tugend Screenwriter
Laszlo Vadnay Original Story
Vera West Costumes/Costume Designer

Customer Reviews