Search for Beauty

Search for Beauty

Larry "Buster" Crabbe
Director: Erle C. Kenton Cast: Larry "Buster" Crabbe
Larry "Buster" Crabbe
, Ida Lupino
Ida Lupino
, Toby Wing
Toby Wing
Erle C. Kenton




Back in the 1930s, the "Search for Beauty" contests were designed to scout the hinterlands of America and England for beautiful girls and handsome men who might qualify as movie contractees -- though most the winners were drawn from the ranks of Hollywood residents. These contests, coupled with a play by Schuyler E. Gray and Paul R. Milton, formed the basis for this 1934 comedy. Real-life "Search for Beauty" winners Larry "Buster" Crabbe and Ida Lupino (both of whom had already appeared in a few films) head the cast in this story of a contest staged by a two-bit "physical culture" magazine. When the winners, Don Jackson (Crabbe) and Barbara Hilton (Lupino), realize that they've been hired exclusively to pose in bathing suits for the pin-up trade, they leave for the greener pastures of a legitimate health farm. The magazine's crooked publishers try to extort money from Don and Barbara, but they're foiled by a local justice of the peace (Frank McGlynn Sr.) who turns out to be an agent of the U.S. Department of Justice!

Product Details

Release Date: 10/01/2019
UPC: 0025192365959
Original Release: 1934
Rating: NR
Source: Universal
Time: 1:18:00

Cast & Crew

Performance Credits
Larry "Buster" Crabbe Don Jackson
Ida Lupino Barbara Hilton
Toby Wing Sally
James Gleason Dan Healey
Donald Smith Larry Williams
Gertrude Michael Jean Strange
Roscoe Karns Newspaper Reporter
Verna Hillie Susie
Frank McGlynn Rev. Rankin
Nora Cecil Actor
Phil Dunham Actor
Eddie Gribbon Actor
Virginia Hammond Actor
Dell Henderson Actor
James B. "Pop" Kenton Caretaker
Bradley Page Actor
Ann Sheridan Beauty Contestant
Tammany Young Actor

Technical Credits
Erle C. Kenton Director
Claude Binyon Screenwriter
David Boehm Screenwriter
Frank R. Butler Screenwriter
Harry A. Fischbeck Cinematographer
Samuel Hellman Screenwriter
LeRoy J. Prinz Choreography
Ralph Rainger Songwriter
Leo Robin Songwriter
James Smith Editor
Maurine Watkins Screenwriter

Customer Reviews