Rose of Washington Square

Rose of Washington Square

Tyrone Power
Director: Gregory Ratoff Cast: Tyrone Power
Tyrone Power
, Alice Faye
Alice Faye
, Al Jolson
Al Jolson
Gregory Ratoff

DVD (Full Frame)

Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


This barely-disguised portrait of singer Fanny Brice led to Brice's lawsuit against 20th Century Fox for defamation of character, a case which was settled out of court. Alice Faye plays Rose Sargent, a New York singer of the 1920s who falls for handsome, cocky wheeler-dealer Bart Clinton (Tyrone Power in a role patterned on Brice's troubled real-life paramour Nicky Arnstein). Rose's new romance is much to the dismay of her pal and former partner Ted Cotter (Al Jolson), who doesn't trust the slick, smooth-talking Bart. Eventually, Rose and Bart marry, but as the entertainment careers of Rose and Ted take off, Bart's tendency to get over his head in get-rich-quick schemes evolves into a bona fide criminal career. Rose finally makes the big time, becoming a popular star with the Ziegfeld Follies, and Bart skips town in order to preserve her reputation. However, Bart is nabbed by the authorities and sentenced to five years in jail. Despite the public scandal, Rose and Bart's devotion remained undiminished. Songs include the classics "California, Here I Come," "Toot Toot Tootsie Goodbye," "I'm Just Wild About Harry" and the perhaps unwise inclusion of "Funny Lady" Brice's signature song, "My Man."

Product Details

Release Date: 11/27/2018
UPC: 0024543586395
Original Release: 1939
Rating: NR
Source: Fox Mod
Presentation: [Full Frame]
Sales rank: 40,006

Cast & Crew

Performance Credits
Tyrone Power Bart Clinton
Alice Faye Rose Sargent
Jolson Ted Cotter
William Frawley Harry Long
Joyce Compton Peggy
Hobart Cavanaugh Whitey Boone
Moroni Olsen Buck Russell
E.E. Clive Barouche driver
Louis Prima Himself
Charles Wilson Mike Cavanaugh
Hal K. Dawson Chump
Ben Welden Toby
Paul Stanton District attorney
Maurice Cass Mr. Mork
Bert Roach Mr. Paunch
Harry Hayden Dexter
Charles Lane Sam Kress, Booking Agent
Adrian Morris Jim
John Hamilton Judge
Winifred Harris Mrs. Russell
Murray Alper Candy Butcher
Chick Chandler Master of Ceremonies
Edgar Dearing Lieutenant
Ralph Dunn Officer
James Flavin Guard
Leonard Kibrick Newsboy
Robert "Buddy" Shaw Reporter
Horace McMahon Irving
Paul E. Burns Chump

Technical Credits
Gregory Ratoff Director
Richard Day Art Director
Seymour Felix Choreography
Karl W. Freund Cinematographer
Mack Gordon Songwriter
James F. Hanley Songwriter
Nunnally Johnson Associate Producer,Screenwriter
John Francis Larkin Original Story
Thomas K. Little Set Decoration/Design
Louis Loeffler Editor
Ballard MacDonald Songwriter
Harry Revel Songwriter
Royer Costumes/Costume Designer
Louis Silvers Score Composer,Musical Direction/Supervision
Rudolph Sternad Art Director
Darryl F. Zanuck Producer

Customer Reviews