Retreat, Hell!

Retreat, Hell!

Frank Lovejoy
Director: Joseph H. Lewis Cast: Frank Lovejoy
Frank Lovejoy
, Richard Carlson
Richard Carlson
, Russ Tamblyn
Russ Tamblyn
Joseph H. Lewis


$22.74 $24.99 Save 9% Current price is $22.74, Original price is $24.99. You Save 9%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


Retreat, Hell! is out of favor with most disciples of director Joseph H. Lewis, partly because it was a major-studio release, whereas Lewis' cult classics were made on shoestring budgets for independent producers. Despite this "handicap," Retreat, Hell! holds up beautifully when seen today. The faintly scatological title is based on a defiant quote from General Oliver P. Smith, which gained fame during the Korean War. Frank Lovejoy stars as Marine Batallion Commander Steve Corbett, whose men valiantly fight their way towards the Changjin Reservoir, then just as valiantly fight their way back to their own lines. The film's dramatic conflict is in the hands of Richard Carlson, cast as reservist Captain Paul Hanson, who is forced to leave hearth and home when his country calls upon him. Others in the cast include Russ Tamblyn in his first "adult" role, future-director Lamont Johnson, and real-life war hero Peter Ornitz.

Product Details

Release Date: 06/18/2013
UPC: 0887090066709
Original Release: 1952
Rating: NR
Source: Olive Films
Region Code: 1
Presentation: [B&W]
Time: 1:35:00
Sales rank: 15,736

Cast & Crew

Performance Credits
Frank Lovejoy Capt. Steve Corbett
Richard Carlson Paul Hansen
Russ Tamblyn Jimmy McDermid
Anita Louise Ruth Hansen
Ned Young Sgt. Novak
Lamont Johnson Capt. O'Grady
Robert Ellis Shorty Devine
Paul Smith Andy Smith
Peter Ortiz Maj. Knox
Dorothy Patrick Eve O'Grady

Technical Credits
Joseph H. Lewis Director
Folmar Blangsted Editor
William Lava Score Composer
Warren Lynch Cinematographer
Ted Sherdeman Screenwriter
Milton Sperling Producer,Screenwriter

Scene Index

Disc #1 -- Retreat, Hell!
1. Chapter I [11:33]
2. Chapter II [9:03]
3. Chapter III [11:50]
4. Chapter IV [15:59]
5. Chapter V [9:08]
6. Chapter VI [10:20]
7. Chapter VII [8:17]
8. Chapter VIII [19:10]

Customer Reviews