Warren Beatty
 Cast: Warren Beatty
Warren Beatty
, Diane Keaton
Diane Keaton
, Edward Herrmann
Edward Herrmann
, Jerzy Kosinski
Jerzy Kosinski

DVD (Wide Screen)


Few filmmakers other than Warren Beatty would have had the courage and vision to fashion an epic film from the life of famed American Communist John Reed (who is the only US citizen buried in the Kremlin). The film is an effort to humanize a political movement that has previously been depicted on screen in a series of unsubtle and prejudicial broad strokes. The film begins in 1915, when Reed (Beatty) makes the acquaintance of married Portland journalist Louise Bryant (Diane Keaton). So persuasive is Reed's point of view--and so charismatic is Reed himself-- that Bryant kicks over the traces and joins Reed and his fellow radicals. Among the famous personages depicted herein are Emma Goldman (Maureen Stapleton), Eugene O'Neill (Jack Nicholson) and Max Eastman (Richard Herrmann). The second half of this nearly-200-minute film skims through the years when Reed, now a Russian resident, becomes disillusioned by the harsh realities of Bolshevism. Despite the celebrity line-up of real-life "witnesses" to the events depicted in the film (ranging from novelist Henry Miller to comedian George Jessel!), historians took Reds to task for its oversimplification of events and its laundering of the notoriously promiscuous Louise Bryant.

Product Details

Release Date: 10/10/2006
UPC: 0097360133141
Original Release: 1981
Rating: PG
Source: Paramount
Region Code: 1
Presentation: [Wide Screen]
Sound: [Dolby Digital Stereo, Dolby Digital 5.1 Surround]
Time: 3:15:00

Special Features

Closed Caption; ; Witness to REDS:; The Rising; Comrades; Testimonials; Revolution - Part 1; Revolution - Part 2; The March; Propaganda; ; New DVD Trailer

Cast & Crew

Performance Credits
Warren Beatty John Reed
Diane Keaton Louise Bryant
Edward Herrmann Max Eastman
Jerzy Kosinski Grigory Zinoviev
Jack Nicholson Eugene O'Neill
Paul Sorvino Louis Fraina
Maureen Stapleton Emma Goldman
Nicolas Coster Paul Trullinger
M. Emmet Walsh Speaker at the Liberal Club
Ian Wolfe Mr. Partlow
Bessie Love Mrs. Partlow
Noel Davis Actor
Marion Dougherty Actor
Nancy Foy Actor
Jane Jenkins Actor
Arthur Mayer Witness
Patsy Pollock Actor
Gretchen Rennell Actor
Adela Rogers St. John Actor
Leigh Curran Ida Rauh
MacIntyre Dixon Carl Walters
Pat Starr Helen Walters
Eleanor D. Wilson Mrs. Reed
Max Wright Floyd Dell
George Plimpton Horace Whigham
Harry Ditson Maurice Becker
Kathryn Grody Crystal Eastman
Brenda Currin Marjorie Jones
Norman Chancer Barney
Dolph Sweet Big Bill Haywood
Ramon Bieri Police Chief
Jack O'Leary Pinkerton Guard
Gene Hackman Pete Van Wherry
Gerald Hiken Dr. Lorber
William Daniels Julius Gerber
Joseph Buloff Joe Volski
Stefan Gryff Alex Gomberg
Roger Sloman Vladimir Lenin
Stuart Richman Leon Trotsky
Shane Rimmer MacAlpine
Jerry Hardin Harry
Jack Kehoe Eddie
Christopher Malcolm C.I.P. Party Member
Tony Sibbald CLP Member
R.G. Armstrong Agent
Jan Triska Karl Radek
Ake Lindman Escort
Roger Baldwin Witness
Hamilton Fish Witness
Rebecca West Witness
Will Durant Witness
George Jessel Witness
Dave King Allan Benson
Josef Sommer Official
Phil Brown Actor
Art Shields Witness

Technical Credits
Warren Beatty Director,Producer,Screenwriter
Dede Allen Editor,Executive Producer
Simon Bosanquet Set Decoration/Design
Trevor Griffiths Screenwriter
A. Kitman Ho Production Designer
Simon Holland Art Director
David L. MacLeod Associate Producer
Craig McKay Editor
Redmond Morris Set Decoration/Design
Peter Odabashian Sound Editor
Simon Relph Editor,Executive Producer
Shirley Russell Costumes/Costume Designer
Michael Seirton Production Designer
Stephen Sondheim Score Composer
Vittorio Storaro Cinematographer
Richard Sylbert Production Designer
William Turner Makeup

Scene Index

Disc #1 -- Reds
1. The Witnesses [:17]
2. Mrs. Trullinger [1:49]
3. A Bit of a Rebel [3:18]
4. "You Don't Rewrite What I Write" [4:46]
5. A Poet [8:15]
6. War [:43]
7. Alone [8:12]
8. To Russia [3:13]
9. Partners [5:01]
10. Revolution [4:08]
Disc #2 -- Reds:
1. The Red Scare [8:04]
2. Building a Party [2:31]
3. Dont' Go [7:23]
4. A Place On The Train [5:08]
5. Searching for Each Other [3:03]
6. The Dream Is Dying [6:41]
7. Revolution Is Dissent [1:15]
8. Comrades [6:51]
9. Fading Recollections/ Credits [8:41]

Customer Reviews