Queen Bee

Queen Bee

Joan Crawford
Director: Ranald MacDougall Cast: Joan Crawford
Joan Crawford
, Barry Sullivan
Barry Sullivan
, Betsy Palmer
Betsy Palmer
Ranald MacDougall


$20.99 View All Available Formats & Editions
Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


Queen Bee offers a stinging portrait of a mad, manipulative woman and chronicles her downfall and that of those around her in this dark drama. On first meeting, Eva Phillips (portrayed with delicious viciousness by Joan Crawford) is the epitome of Southern graciousness and charm. She and her husband, a textile magnate live together in a splendiferous Georgian plantation. Unfortunately, while others are easily beguiled by Mrs. Phillips, her husband knows what a ruthless she-devil she really is and loathes her. To cope with the pain of living with her, he has taken to drinking heavily. Trouble follows when the horrible Eva learns that her husband's sister is engaged to marry the manager of the estate, a man she once loved. Like the proverbial dog in the manger, Eva does all she can to destroy the relationship so she can have the manager back for herself. Unfortunately, she goes too far.

Product Details

Release Date: 11/05/2013
UPC: 0043396241794
Original Release: 1955
Source: Sony Pictures Home
Presentation: [B&W]
Sales rank: 45,331

Cast & Crew

Performance Credits
Joan Crawford Eva Phillips
Barry Sullivan John Avery Phillips
Betsy Palmer Carol Lee Phillips
John Ireland Judson Prentiss
Lucy Marlow Jennifer Stewart
William Leslie Ty McKinnon
Fay Wray Sue McKinnon
Katherine Anderson Miss Breen
Tim Hovey Ted
Linda Bennett Trissa
Willa Pearl Curtis Miss George
Bill Walker Sam
Olan Soule Dr. Pearson
Juanita Moore Maid
Bob McCord Man

Technical Credits
Ranald MacDougall Director,Screenwriter
Ross Bellah Art Director
George Duning Score Composer
Charles B. Lang Cinematographer
Viola Lawrence Editor
Jean Louis Costumes/Costume Designer
Morris W. Stoloff Musical Direction/Supervision
Jerry Wald Producer

Scene Index

Disc #1 -- Queen Bee
1. Chapter 1 [11:22]
2. Chapter 2 [10:18]
3. Chapter 3 [11:05]
4. Chapter 4 [7:37]
5. Chapter 5 [9:22]
6. Chapter 6 [11:23]
7. Chapter 7 [10:22]
8. Chapter 8 [8:42]
9. Chapter 9 [9:46]
10. Chapter 10 [4:34]

Customer Reviews