One Day You'll Understand

One Day You'll Understand

Jeanne Moreau
Director: Amos Gitai Cast: Jeanne Moreau
Jeanne Moreau
, Hippolyte Girardot
Hippolyte Girardot
, Emmanuelle Devos
Emmanuelle Devos
Amos Gitai

DVD (Wide Screen)

Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Thursday, June 24


A middle-aged man studying the Mur des Noms in modern-day France recalls the time 20 years prior when he and his mother were viewing the trial of Klaus Barbie with rapt attention in this introspective drama from director Amos Gitai. The year was 1987, and Rivka lived with her son, Victor, in a disheveled apartment littered with antiques and memorabilia. The opening session in the trial against the so-called "butcher of Lyon" is being televised, and Rivka is struggling to keep her emotions under control as she prepares dinner. Meanwhile, Victor sits in his office attempting to assemble his family tree. But he too is watching the trials, and doesn't seem to hear a word spoken to him by his secretary. As mother and son sit down for dinner together, the mere mention of Barbie's trial is enough to cause Rivka to excuse herself from the table.

Product Details

Release Date: 08/11/2009
UPC: 0738329062828
Original Release: 2007
Source: Kino Lorber
Presentation: [Wide Screen]
Time: 1:30:00
Sales rank: 57,982

Special Features

Theatrical trailer; Photo gallery

Cast & Crew

Performance Credits
Jeanne Moreau Rivka
Hippolyte Girardot Victor Bastien
Emmanuelle Devos Françoise
Dominique Blanc Tania
Daniel Duval Actor
Denise Aron-Schropfer Actor

Technical Credits
Amos Gitai Director,Producer,Screenwriter
Caroline Champetier Cinematographer
Emmanuel Chauvigny Production Designer
Jerome Clement Screenwriter
Nicole Collet Producer
Moira Douget Costumes/Costume Designer
Dan Franck Screenwriter
Isabelle Ingold Editor
Erwan Kerzanet Sound/Sound Designer
Serge Moati Producer
Serge Motai Producer
Marie-Jose Sanselme Screenwriter
Louis Sclavis Score Composer

Scene Index

Disc #1 -- One Day You'll Understand
1. Memorial [8:55]
2. Family Papers [6:25]
3. Dinner with Mom [5:08]
4. Aryan Letter [8:51]
5. Ancestry [7:34]
6. The Hotel [7:37]
7. Grandparents' Fate [9:36]
8. Traces of the Past [5:35]
9. The Promise [5:25]
10. Mourning [11:23]
11. Auction [3:33]
12. Reparations [9:13]

Customer Reviews