B&N Audiobooks Subscription = SAVINGS. Sign Up Today for a Free Book!
Once an Eagle

Once an Eagle

Richard Michaels, E.W. Swackhamer,


Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Wednesday, June 29


Once an Eagle was a seven-part miniseries originally telecast December 2, 1976 through January 13, 1977; the first and last installments ran two hours each, while the interim episodes each ran 60 minutes. Based on the Anton Myrer novel, the series charts thirty years in the careers of two military men, from the outbreak of World War I to the aftermath of World War II. Sam Damon (Sam Elliot) is the "Gallant," a straight-arrow type who is an excellent family man and praiseworthy warrior. Courtney Massingale (Cliff Potts) is the "Goofus," a womanizing, self-aggrandizing conniver who knows how to play the angles to the top. Once an Eagle was the second of four story arcs seen on the NBC anthology series Best Sellers; it was preceded by Captains and the Kings, and followed by Seventh Avenue and The Rhineman Exchange.

Related collections and offers

Product Details

Release Date: 06/19/2012
UPC: 0011301626363
Original Release: 1976
Rating: NR
Source: Timeless Media
Sales rank: 7,180

Cast & Crew

Performance Credits
Ralph Bellamy Actor
Andrew Duggan Actor
Lynda Day George Actor
Melanie Griffith Actor
Clu Gulager Actor
Robert Hogan Actor
William Windom Actor
Anthony Zerbe Actor

Technical Credits
Richard Michaels Director
E.W. Swackhamer Director
Elmer Bernstein Score Composer
William L. Campbell Art Director
Howard S. Deane Editor
John Elias Editor
Peter S. Fischer Producer,Teleplay
J.J. "John Marshal" Jones Cinematographer
Dana Kaproff Score Composer
Chuck McClelland Editor
Louis Montejano Art Director
William Sackheim Executive Producer

Customer Reviews