Old Yeller: 2 Movie Collection

Old Yeller: 2 Movie Collection

Robert Stevenson
Director: Jack Kinney, Norman Tokar Cast: Robert Stevenson
Robert Stevenson
, Brian Keith
Brian Keith
Jack Kinney, Norman Tokar,


Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Thursday, June 17


Based on the novel by Fred Gipson, the story is set in Texas in 1869. While his father is away on a cattle drive, 15-year-old Tommy Kirk takes over management of the family farm. Adopting a "strictly business" policy, Kirk is irritated when younger brother Moochie Corcoran adopts a frisky stray dog. But soon Kirk is as fond of the dog as everyone else in the family; moreover, "Old Yeller" is an excellent watchdog. But while fighting off a mad wolf, Yeller is infected with rabies. Though Yeller seems unaffected at first, he eventually behaves so viciously that the disheartened Kirk has no choice but to shoot the dog. A heart-to-heart talk between Kirk and his returning father (Fess Parker), coupled with the adoption of a new pup, paves the way to an emotional but reasonably happy ending. Earning $8 million domestically on its first release, Old Yeller convinced Walt Disney to devote more and more time to live-action films and less time to animation-which at the time was a sagacious business move. In 1963, Disney released a lesser sequel to Old Yeller titled Savage Sam.

Product Details

Release Date: 11/15/2005
UPC: 0786936283945
Original Release: 0000
Source: Walt Disney Video
Region Code: 1
Time: 3:08:00
Sales rank: 1,544

Special Features

Closed Caption; Original theatrical animated short "Bone Trouble"; "Old Yeller: Remembering a Classic"; Conversations with Tommy Kirk; "Dogs!"; Lost Treasures - "Ranch of the Golden Oak"

Cast & Crew

Scene Index

Disc #1 -- Old Yeller/Savage Sam
1. Opening Credits/"Old Yeller" [2:26]
2. Cash Money [4:18]
3. That Old Stray [3:22]
4. "Looks Like We've Got Us a Dog" [7:24]
5. Old Yeller and the Bear [7:02]
6. Mr. Searcy and Elizabeth Visit [10:14]
7. A New Calf [4:51]
8. Mr. Sanderson's Dog [7:31]
9. Hog Tracks [10:17]
10. On the Mend [5:36]
11. A Mad Wolf [6:25]
12. "He Was My Dog" [5:54]
13. It's Not a Thing You Can Forget [6:10]
14. Young Yeller [2:13]
1. Opening Credits/Bacon & Mush [11:14]
2. Uncle Beck [13:20]
3. "A Mite o' Company" [11:41]
4. Captured! [6:27]
5. Where's 'Ol Jumper? [9:30]
6. The Cavalry [6:55]
7. Travis Escapes [5:28]
8. "Come On, Sam" [9:46]
9. A Tail [7:53]
10. The Other Side of the Hill [7:36]
11. The Rescue [5:13]
12. Back at the Ranch/End Credits [8:18]

Customer Reviews