Herbert Marshall
Director: Alfred Hitchcock Cast: Herbert Marshall
Herbert Marshall
, Norah Baring
Norah Baring
, Phyllis Konstam
Phyllis Konstam
Alfred Hitchcock

Blu-ray (Special Edition / Subtitled)

View All Available Formats & Editions
Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


Alfred Hitchcock's second all-talkie thriller, Murder! (1930) stars Herbert Marshall as pompous actor-manager Sir John Menier, a send-up of George DuMaurier. Summoned for jury duty, Sir John is one of 12 people who must decide the fate of Diana Baring (Norah Baring), a young actress on trial for murder. Though the girl is found guilty, Sir John believes that she's innocent and sets about to prove it on his own, exercising his actor's prerogative of adopting clever disguises in the course of his investigation. Along the way, he is obliged to entertain a pair of lower-class clods, Ted and Dulcie Markham (Edward Chapman and Phyllis Konstam), who help him stage an elaborate re-enactment of the crime. Based on Enter Sir John, a novel and play by Clemence Dane and Helen Simpson, Murder was simultaneously filmed in a German version, with Alfred Abel replacing Herbert Marshall.

Product Details

Release Date: 08/13/2019
UPC: 0738329239046
Original Release: 1930
Rating: NR
Source: Kl Studio Classics
Region Code: A
Time: 1:42:00
Sales rank: 17,630

Special Features

Audio Commentary by Film Critic Nick Pinkerton; Hitchcock/Truffaut: Icon interviews Icon (Archival Audio); Mary: 1931 German version of 'Murder'! also Directed by Hitchcock (Up-res); Introduction by Noel Simsolo; Alternate Ending

Cast & Crew

Performance Credits
Herbert Marshall Sir John Menier
Norah Baring Diana Baring
Phyllis Konstam Dulcie Markham
Edward Chapman Ted Markham
R.E. Jeffrey Foreman of the Jury
Miles Mander Gordon Druce
Donald Calthrop Ion Stewart
Esme Percy HandelFane
Gus McNaughton Tom Trewitt
William Fazan Actor
Esme V. Chaplin Prosecuting Counsel
Amy Brandon Thomas Defending Counsel
Joynson Powell Judge
S.J. Warmington Bennett
Marie Wright Miss Mitcham
Hannah Jones Mrs. Didsome
Una O'Connor Mrs. Grogram
Kenneth Kove Matthews, Jury Member
Violet Farebrother Mrs. Ward, Jury Member
Clare Greet Jury Member
Drusilla Wills Jury Member

Technical Credits
Alfred Hitchcock Director,Screenwriter
Jack Cox Cinematographer
Clemence Dane Original Story
Emile de Ruelle Editor
Rene Harrison Editor
John Maxwell Executive Producer
John Mead Art Director
Frank Mills Asst. Director
Walter Mycroft Screenwriter
Alma Reville Screenwriter
John Reynders Score Composer

Customer Reviews