Scoot McNairy
Director: Gareth Edwards Cast: Scoot McNairy
Scoot McNairy
, Whitney Able
Whitney Able
Gareth Edwards

DVD (Wide Screen)

$11.95 $12.99 Save 8% Current price is $11.95, Original price is $12.99. You Save 8%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


Two people who barely know one another are thrown into otherworldly danger in this independent thriller. Andrew Kaulder (Scoot McNairy) is an American photojournalist on assignment in Mexico at a time when working there has become unusually dangerous -- after a NASA space probe crash-landed not far from the American border, alien creatures that made their way into the satellite were released, and have since thrived in Northern Mexico. Now the area is regarded as an "infected zone," where the aliens (who resemble giant squids) have been contained but move about freely, sometimes attacking humans who cross their paths. While working on a project, Kaulder's publisher contacts him to ask a big favor; his daughter Samantha (Whitney Able) has been traveling outside the United States, and would appreciate an escort from Southern Mexico to California. Not wanting to anger his boss, Kaulder agrees and books passage on a ferry that travels through a safe zone. But bad timing, bad luck, and some foolish choices by Kaulder prevent him and Samantha from catching the ship, and now they have to travel through alien territory with the help of some armed guards, hoping to avoid contact with the bloodthirsty creatures. Monsters was the first feature film from special effects artist-turned-director Gareth Edwards.

Product Details

Release Date: 02/01/2011
UPC: 0876964003605
Original Release: 2010
Rating: R
Source: Magnolia
Region Code: 1
Presentation: [Wide Screen]
Sound: [Dolby Digital 5.1 Surround]
Time: 1:34:00
Sales rank: 42,910

Special Features

Commentary with Gareth Edwards, Scott McNairy and Whitney Able; Deleted and extended scenes; HDNet: A Look At Monsters

Cast & Crew

Scene Index

Disc #1 -- Monsters
1. 6 Years Ago [13:46]
2. Put On the Mask [10:39]
3. Unknown Dead [6:54]
4. Last Ferry [12:58]
5. Tommy [7:16]
6. Very Close [7:32]
7. Be Quiet [7:36]
8. Look At This [4:56]
9. Evacuation Route [6:32]
10. Hello 911 [5:16]
11. Monsters [7:11]
12. End Credits [3:10]

Customer Reviews