Mississippi Burning

Mississippi Burning

Gene Hackman
Director: Alan Parker Cast: Gene Hackman
Gene Hackman
, Willem Dafoe
Willem Dafoe
, Frances McDormand
Frances McDormand
Alan Parker

DVD (Wide Screen / Dolby 5.1 / Stereo / Mono)

View All Available Formats & Editions


This controversial and hard-hitting drama has been given a lean but satisfying presentation on DVD. Mississippi Burning has been transferred to disc in letterboxed format, replicating the film's original 1.85:1 aspect ratio, and the image has also been enhanced for playback on widescreen televisions. The original English-language audio track has been presented in a Dolby Digital Surround mix; two alternate soundtracks are also included, a French version in Dolby Digital Surround and a Spanish track in Dolby Digital Mono. The film has been closed captioned in English, and also includes optional subtitles in Spanish and French. The disc also includes two notable bonus features: the film's original theatrical trailer and a commentary track in which director Alan Parker discusses the film.

Product Details

Release Date: 05/08/2001
UPC: 0027616860996
Original Release: 1988
Rating: R
Source: Mgm (Video & Dvd)
Region Code: 1
Presentation: [Wide Screen]
Sound: [Dolby Digital, stereo, monaural]
Time: 2:07:00

Special Features

Director's audio commentary; Original theatrical trailer; English: stereo Surround; French: stereo Surrond; Spanish: mono; French & Spanish subtitles

Cast & Crew

Performance Credits
Gene Hackman Rupert Anderson
Willem Dafoe Alan Ward
Frances McDormand Mrs. Pell
Brad Dourif Deputy Pell
R. Lee Ermey Mayor Tilman
Gailard Sartain Sheriff Stuckey
Stephen Tobolowsky Townley
Michael Rooker Frank Bailey
Pruitt Taylor Vince Lester Cowens
Badja Djola Agent Monk
Kevin Dunn Agent Bird
Zeke Davidson Lawyer
Ralnardo Davis Willie
Ron de Roxtra Reporter
Dan Desmond TV Commentator
Howard Feuer Actor
Harry S. Franklin SNCC Interviewer
Cullen Gilliland Lawyer
Robert Glaudini Agent Nash
Doug Jackson Reporter
Barry Davis Jim Choctaw Man
Ken Magee Agent Reilly
Lannie Spann McBride Gospel Singer
Harry Quick Doctor
Paul Saveles Trooper
Juliet Taylor Actor
Simeon Teague Obie Walker
E.A. Thrall Agent Tubbs
Tom Mason Judge
Geoffrey Nauffts Goatee
Rick Zieff Passenger
Gladys Greer Hattie
Jake Gipson Mose
Dianne Lancaster Waitress
Stanley W. Collins Hollis
Daniel Winford Fennis
Marc Clement Floyd Swilley
Larry Shuler Earl Cooke
Stephen Wesley Bridgewater Wesley Cooke
Bob Penny Curtis Foy
James F. Moore Barber
Park Overall Connie
Georgia F. Wise Beauty Parlor Woman
Lois Allen Beauty Parlor Woman
Darius McCrary Aaron Williams
Lou Walker Vertis Williams
Billie Jean Young Mrs. Williams
Alisa R. Patrick Church Soloist
Barbara Gibson Church Soloist
Pat Funderburk Pell Maid
Dwight Boyd Interviewee
Linda Fuller Interviewee
George Isbell Interviewee
Ethel L. Mayes Interviewee
James Arnold Mayes Interviewee
George Mason Farmer
Charles Franzen Interviewer & Reporter
Virginia Bennett SNCC Interviewee
James Lloyd SNCC Interviewee
Jesse Merle Speaks Pecan Vendor
Tonea Stewart Mrs. Walker
Robert F. Colesberry Cameraman
Frederick Zollo Reporter
Judy Sasser Neighbor Woman
Mark Jeffrey Miller Fire Bomber
Mert Hatfield Fire Bomber
James Eric Fire Bomber
John P. Fertitta TV Commentator
Gary Moody Reporter
Robert Erickson Reporter
John Brook Reporter
Tobin Bell Agent Stokes
Daniel Chapman Agent MacMillan
Rick Washburne Agent Brodsky
Bernice Poindexter Grieving Mother
Brenda Dunlap Mrs. Cowens
Frankie R. Faison Eulogist
Ed Geldart Fire Bomber

Technical Credits
Alan Parker Director,Screenwriter
Peter Biziou Cinematographer
Aude Bronson-Howard Costumes/Costume Designer
Robert F. Colesberry Producer
Jim Erickson Set Decoration/Design
Howard Feuer Casting
David Forrest Makeup
Chris Gerolmo Screenwriter
Gerry Hambling Editor
Philip Harrison Production Designer
Trevor Jones Score Composer
Geoffrey Kirkland Production Designer
Rick Kline Sound/Sound Designer
Stan Parks Special Effects
Aldric La'Auli Porter Asst. Director
John Robotham Stunts
Juliet Taylor Casting
John Willett Art Director
Frederick Zollo Producer

Scene Index

Side #1 --
0. Scene Selections
1. Logos/"Mississippi, 1964" [10:30]
2. Small-Town Sheriff [4:24]
3. Burning Hate [8:56]
4. Jawing With Locals [9:03]
5. Igniting A War [9:07]
6. Laying On The Charm [9:18]
7. Terrorism Vs. Prayer [2:43]
8. Intimidating Opinions [9:17]
9. Release & Catch [7:22]
10. Flagrant Injustice [6:06]
11. Fiery Lynching [4:03]
12. The Key Witness [4:50]
13. The Tables Are Turned [11:12]
14. Snakes Start Talking [6:53]
15. Judgement Day [10:38]
16. "Walk On!"/End Credits [3:05]

Customer Reviews