Free Shipping on Orders of $40 or More
Mississippi Burning

Mississippi Burning

Director: Alan Parker Cast: Gene Hackman
Gene Hackman
, Willem Dafoe
Willem Dafoe
, Frances McDormand
Frances McDormand
, Brad Dourif
Brad Dourif
Alan Parker
Mississippi Burning

Mississippi Burning

Director: Alan Parker Cast: Gene Hackman
Gene Hackman
, Willem Dafoe
Willem Dafoe
, Frances McDormand
Frances McDormand
, Brad Dourif
Brad Dourif
Alan Parker

Blu-ray (Special Edition / Subtitled)

Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Thursday, February 2


Mississippi Burning is an all-names-changed dramatization of the Ku Klux Klan's murders of three civil rights workers in 1964. Investigating the mysterious disappearances of the three activists are FBI agents Gene Hackman (older, wiser) and Willem Dafoe (younger, idealistic). A Southerner himself, Hackman charms and cajoles his way through the tight-lipped residents of a dusty Mississippi town while Dafoe acts upon the evidence gleaned by his partner. Hackman solves the case by exerting his influence upon beauty-parlor worker Frances McDormand, who wishes to exact revenge for the beatings inflicted upon her by her Klan-connected husband Brad Dourif. Many critics took the film to task for its implication that the Civil Rights movement might never have gained momentum without its white participants; nor were the critics happy that the FBI was shown to utilize tactics as brutal as the Klan's. The title Mississippi Burning is certainly appropriate: nearly half the film is taken up with scenes of smoke and flame.

Related collections and offers

Product Details

Release Date: 06/18/2019
UPC: 0738329237738
Original Release: 1988
Rating: R
Source: Kl Studio Classics
Region Code: A
Time: 2:07:00
Sales rank: 5,413

Special Features

Audio Commentary by Director Alan Parker; Theatrical Trailer

Cast & Crew

Performance Credits
Gene Hackman Rupert Anderson
Willem Dafoe Alan Ward
Frances McDormand Mrs. Pell
Brad Dourif Deputy Pell
R. Lee Ermey Mayor Tilman
Gailard Sartain Sheriff Stuckey
Stephen Tobolowsky Townley
Michael Rooker Frank Bailey
Pruitt Taylor Vince Lester Cowens
Badja Djola Agent Monk
Kevin Dunn Agent Bird
Zeke Davidson Lawyer
Ralnardo Davis Willie
Ron de Roxtra Reporter
Dan Desmond TV Commentator
Howard Feuer Actor
Harry S. Franklin SNCC Interviewer
Cullen Gilliland Lawyer
Robert Glaudini Agent Nash
Doug Jackson Reporter
Barry Davis Jim Choctaw Man
Ken Magee Agent Reilly
Lannie Spann McBride Gospel Singer
Harry Quick Doctor
Paul Saveles Trooper
Juliet Taylor Actor
Simeon Teague Obie Walker
E.A. Thrall Agent Tubbs
Tom Mason Judge
Geoffrey Nauffts Goatee
Rick Zieff Passenger
Gladys Greer Hattie
Jake Gipson Mose
Dianne Lancaster Waitress
Stanley W. Collins Hollis
Daniel Winford Fennis
Marc Clement Floyd Swilley
Larry Shuler Earl Cooke
Stephen Wesley Bridgewater Wesley Cooke
Bob Penny Curtis Foy
James F. Moore Barber
Park Overall Connie
Georgia F. Wise Beauty Parlor Woman
Lois Allen Beauty Parlor Woman
Darius McCrary Aaron Williams
Lou Walker Vertis Williams
Billie Jean Young Mrs. Williams
Alisa R. Patrick Church Soloist
Barbara Gibson Church Soloist
Pat Funderburk Pell Maid
Dwight Boyd Interviewee
Linda Fuller Interviewee
George Isbell Interviewee
Ethel L. Mayes Interviewee
James Arnold Mayes Interviewee
George Mason Farmer
Charles Franzen Interviewer & Reporter
Virginia Bennett SNCC Interviewee
James Lloyd SNCC Interviewee
Jesse Merle Speaks Pecan Vendor
Tonea Stewart Mrs. Walker
Robert F. Colesberry Cameraman
Frederick Zollo Reporter
Judy Sasser Neighbor Woman
Mark Jeffrey Miller Fire Bomber
Mert Hatfield Fire Bomber
James Eric Fire Bomber
John P. Fertitta TV Commentator
Gary Moody Reporter
Robert Erickson Reporter
John Brook Reporter
Tobin Bell Agent Stokes
Daniel Chapman Agent MacMillan
Rick Washburne Agent Brodsky
Bernice Poindexter Grieving Mother
Brenda Dunlap Mrs. Cowens
Frankie R. Faison Eulogist
Ed Geldart Fire Bomber

Technical Credits
Alan Parker Director,Screenwriter
Peter Biziou Cinematographer
Aude Bronson-Howard Costumes/Costume Designer
Robert F. Colesberry Producer
Jim Erickson Set Decoration/Design
Howard Feuer Casting
David Forrest Makeup
Chris Gerolmo Screenwriter
Gerry Hambling Editor
Philip Harrison Production Designer
Trevor Jones Score Composer
Geoffrey Kirkland Production Designer
Rick Kline Sound/Sound Designer
Stan Parks Special Effects
Aldric La'Auli Porter Asst. Director
John Robotham Stunts
Juliet Taylor Casting
John Willett Art Director
Frederick Zollo Producer

Customer Reviews