Magician: The Astonishing Life and Work of Orson Welles

Magician: The Astonishing Life and Work of Orson Welles

Orson Welles
Director: Chuck Workman Cast: Orson Welles
Chuck Workman

DVD (Wide Screen)

$16.09 $22.99 Save 30% Current price is $16.09, Original price is $22.99. You Save 30%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


Chuck Workman's documentary Magician: The Astounding Life and Work of Orson Welles surveys the influential career of the celebrated superstar by including clips from just about all of his movies. The filmmakers also reveal how he became one of the biggest stars in the world before the age of 25, battled his entire career to raise money to make movies the way he wanted to, and lived an outsized life until his death in 1985.

Product Details

Release Date: 05/26/2015
UPC: 0741952791997
Original Release: 2014
Rating: NR
Source: Cohen Media Group
Presentation: [Wide Screen]
Sound: [DTS 5.1-Channel Surround Sound]
Time: 1:34:00
Sales rank: 44,710

Special Features

EPK featurette interview with Annette Insdorf; Trailer

Cast & Crew

Performance Credits
Orson Welles Actor
Simon Callow Participant
Christopher Welles Participant
Norman Lloyd Participant
Peter Bogdanovich Participant
Elvis Mitchell Participant
William Friedkin Participant
Jonathan Rosenbaum Participant
Henry Jaglom Participant
Joseph McBride Participant
Peter Brook Participant
Walter Murch Participant
Eric Sherman Participant
Costa-Gavras Participant
Richard Linklater Participant
Oja Kodar Participant
Buck Henry Participant
Richard Benjamin Participant
Wolfgang Puck Participant
Peter Viertel Participant
Michael Dawson Participant
Sydney Pollack Participant
Paul Mazursky Participant
Julie Taymor Participant
Frank Marshall Participant

Technical Credits
Chuck Workman Director,Editor
Charles Cohen Producer

Scene Index

Disc #1 -- Magician: The Astonishing Life and Work of Orson Welles
1. Chapter 1 [9:48]
2. Chapter 2 [3:25]
3. Chapter 3 [5:43]
4. Chapter 4 [2:21]
5. Chapter 5 [5:04]
6. Chapter 6 [8:06]
7. Chapter 7 [7:10]
8. Chapter 8 [11:30]
9. Chapter 9 [7:47]
10. Chapter 10 [16:42]
11. Chapter 11 [11:08]
12. Chapter 12 [2:20]

Customer Reviews