Mad Dog Coll

Mad Dog Coll

John Davis Chandler
Director: Burt Balaban Cast: John Davis Chandler
John Davis Chandler
, Neil Nephew
Neil Nephew
, Brooke Hayward
Brooke Hayward
Burt Balaban


Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


This gangland crime story about the life and death of mobster Vincent "Mad Dog" Coll (John Chandler) is most notable for the array of relatively unknown actors in bit parts who later became famous. Otherwise, there is a lot of bloodshed, surface characterization, and a great deal of fiction in the violent tale. Coll is first shown suffering extreme abuse from his father, and then he segues into the development of a neighborhood gang at the age of seventeen. From there, he gets on the wrong side of gangster Dutch Schultz which ultimately is a big mistake. Director Burt Balaban depicts Coll as increasingly insane, before his last killing leads to his violent death. Among those "new" faces are Telly Savalas as Lt. Dawson, Jerry Orbach as Joe, Coll's Judas, Gene Hackman in his first screen role as a cop, and Vincent Gardenia as Dutch Schultz.

Product Details

Release Date: 09/06/2011
UPC: 0043396387706
Original Release: 1961
Rating: R
Source: Sony Mod
Presentation: [B&W]
Sales rank: 45,482

Cast & Crew

Performance Credits
John Davis Chandler Vincent Coll
Neil Nephew Rocco
Brooke Hayward Elizabeth
Joy Harmon Caroline
Jerry Orbach Joe
Vincent Gardenia Dutch Schultz
Telly Savalas Lieutenant Dawson
Kay Doubleday Clio
Leo Cimino Actor
James Greene Actor
Gene Hackman Cop
Stephanie King Official's Wife
Gilbert Leigh Official
Ron Weyand Big Larry
Glenn Cannon Harry
Tom Castronova Ralphie

Technical Credits
Burt Balaban Director
Gene Callahan Set Decoration/Design
Bill Herman Makeup
Leo Lieberman Screenwriter
Stu Phillips Score Composer
Gayne Rescher Cinematographer
Ralph Rosenblum Editor
Edward Schreiber Producer,Screenwriter
Richard Sylbert Art Director
Bill Walstrom Costumes/Costume Designer

Scene Index

Disc #1 -- Mad Dog Coll
1. Chapter 1 [10:00]
2. Chapter 2 [9:59]
3. Chapter 3 [10:00]
4. Chapter 4 [9:59]
5. Chapter 5 [9:59]
6. Chapter 6 [10:00]
7. Chapter 7 [9:59]
8. Chapter 8 [10:00]
9. Chapter 9 [6:45]

Customer Reviews