Live and Become

Live and Become

Yaël Abecassis
Director: Radu Mihaileanu Cast: Yaël Abecassis
Yaël Abecassis
, Roschdy Zem
Roschdy Zem
, Moshe Agazai
Moshe Agazai
Radu Mihaileanu

DVD (Subtitled)

$28.59 $29.99 Save 5% Current price is $28.59, Original price is $29.99. You Save 5%.
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Monday, April 13


Cultural confusion and the lack of true identity plague a young boy swept away from his mother during a joint American-Israeli rescue mission in director Radu Mihaileanu's fact-based drama. As thousands of displaced Africans crowd into Sudanese refugee camps, American and Israeli troops organize "Operation Moses," a mission aimed at relocating the wandering Falashas to Israel. Forced by his Christian mother to declare himself Jewish in hopes of joining the exile and escaping a grim fate, young Solomon (Moshe Agazai) is swept away to Israel and adopted by a Tel Aviv-dwelling French Sephardic family and re-named Schlomo. Terrified of being revealed and shaken to the core by the radically different culture of Israel, Schlomo does his best to adapt to his new surroundings as his presumed salvation slowly gives way to the inner decay of a fading identity.

Product Details

Release Date: 04/28/2009
UPC: 0718122355310
Original Release: 2005
Rating: NR
Source: Menemsha Films
Sound: [DTS 5.1-Channel Surround Sound]
Time: 2:20:00
Sales rank: 55,152

Cast & Crew

Performance Credits
Yaël Abecassis Actor
Roschdy Zem Actor
Moshe Agazai Actor
Moshe Abebe Actor
Sirak M. Sabahat Actor
Yitzhak Edgar Actor
Roni Hadar Actor
Rami Danon Actor

Technical Credits
Radu Mihaileanu Director,Producer,Screenwriter
Armand Amar Score Composer
Alain-Michel Blanc Screenwriter
Denis Carot Producer
Remy Chevrin Cinematographer
Eric de Vos Sound/Sound Designer
Rona Doron Costumes/Costume Designer
Olivier Jacquet Asst. Director
Yorick Kalbache Production Manager
Eytan Levy Production Designer
Marie Masmonteil Producer
Henri Morelle Sound/Sound Designer
Bruno Tarriere Sound/Sound Designer
Ludo Troch Editor

Scene Index

Disc #1 -- Live and Become
1. The History of Beta Israel [10:40]
2. Arrival In Israel [19:40]
3. A New Family [9:24]
4. Learning the Culture [10:50]
5. Fight Against Conversion [10:26]
6. Contact the Past [7:18]
7. Growing Up [:00]
8. The Controversies [11:17]
9. Finding a Voice [13:49]
10. Speak the Truth [18:23]
11. A New Life [11:31]
12. Coming Home [10:28]

Customer Reviews