Les Dames du Bois de Boulogne

Les Dames du Bois de Boulogne

Director: Robert Bresson Cast: Maria Casarés, Paul Bernard, Elina Labourdette

DVD (Black & White)

$28.73 $29.99 Save 4% Current price is $28.73, Original price is $29.99. You Save 4%.
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Thursday, January 30
8 New & Used Starting at $7.50


Though this interesting film was among many responsible for the critical success of French autuer Robert Bresson, it was by no means a commercial success. Slightly different than his other films, director Bresson utilized the contrasty photography of Philippe Agostini (Sylvie et le Fantome, Monde du Silence) and chose professional actors Paul Bernard (Lumiere D'ete), Maria Casares (Enfants du Paradis), and Elina Labourdette (Shanghai Drama) to star rather than non-professionals. With dialogue written by writer/filmmaker Jean Cocteau, Les Dames du Bois du Boulogne was adapted to the screen by Bresson from an interpolated anecdote in Diderot's Jacques Le Fatalist. Casares plays Helene, a passionate but self-controlled woman who is seething after her lover Jean (Bernard) confesses he no longer loves her. Driven by revenge, Helene engineers a plan to attack Jean via Agnes (Labourdette), the woman he truly loves, and Anges' mother (Lucienne Bogaert).

Product Details

Release Date: 03/11/2003
UPC: 0037429173626
Original Release: 1945
Rating: NR
Source: Criterion
Presentation: [B&W]
Sound: [Dolby Digital Mono]
Time: 1:25:00
Sales rank: 26,467

Special Features

New digital transfer, with restored image and sound; Stills gallery featuring rare behind-the-scenes photos; Essays by François Truffaut and David Thomson; New and improved English subtitle translation

Cast & Crew

Scene Index

Side #1 --
1. Logos/Opening Credits [2:20]
2. The Proof of Love [2:16]
3. "I'm the One Who Has Changed" [6:00]
4. We Are All Angels [11:25]
5. "I'm Taking You Out for a Stroll" [7:56]
6. Follow Your String [3:21]
7. Flowers Ruin Everything [9:45]
8. Dinner at Hélène's [7:13]
9. We Are Saved! [4:58]
10. Men Are Vicious [5:04]
11. Read This Letter [6:56]
12. Shall I Tell Him? [6:05]
13. Congratulations [4:53]
14. A Woman's Scorn [2:31]
15. In Time You'll Forgive Me [4:57]
1. Color Bars [:20]

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews