Krakatoa, East of Java

Krakatoa, East of Java

Maximilian Schell
Director: Bernard Kowalski Cast: Maximilian Schell
Maximilian Schell
, Diane Baker
Diane Baker
, Brian Keith
Brian Keith
Bernard Kowalski

Blu-ray (Subtitled)

View All Available Formats & Editions


Volcano is the reissue title of the muddled disaster flick Krakatoa: East of Java. The name change was reportedly put into effect after thousands of filmgoers noted publicly that Krakatoa is west of Java. As might be expected, the story takes place in 1883, when the long-dormant volcano at Krakatoa erupted with A-bomb force. Since everyone knows what's coming, the filmmakers try to stir up suspense with a gratuitous subplot involving ship's-captain Maximilian Schell and his mutinous crew (a similar plot device had been used in a previous dramatization of the Krakatoa incident, 1953's Fair Wind to Java). The climactic special effects are spectacular enough to make the script, and the all-star cast (including Diane Baker, Brian Keith, Rossano Brazzi, and Sal Mineo), seem utterly superfluous.

Product Details

Release Date: 09/12/2017
UPC: 0738329216665
Original Release: 1969
Rating: G
Source: Kl Studio Classics
Region Code: A
Time: 2:11:00

Cast & Crew

Performance Credits
Maximilian Schell Hanson
Diane Baker Laura
Brian Keith Connerly
Barbara Werle Charley
John Leyton Rigby
Rossano Brazzi Giovanni
Sal Mineo Leoncavallo
J.D. Cannon Danzig
Geoffrey Holder Bazooki
Jacqui Chan Toshi
Robert Hall Guard
Midorri Arimoto Japanese Diver
Sumi Haru Japanese Diver
Niall MacGinnis Henley
Victoria Young Actor
Farina Hoskins Jan
Marc Lawrence Jacobs

Technical Credits
Bernard Kowalski Director
Manuel Berenguer Cinematographer
Mack David Songwriter
Frank deVol Score Composer
Laure de Zarate Costumes/Costume Designer
Luis Perez Espinosa Art Director
William R. Foreman Producer
Bernard Gordon Screenwriter
Clifford Newton Gould Screenwriter
Walter A. Hannemann Editor
Eugène Lourié Production Designer
Warren Low Editor
Antonio Mateos Set Decoration/Design
Julio Molina Art Director
Jose Maria Ochoa Asst. Director
Heinz Roemheld Score Composer
Maurice Rootes Editor
Julian Ruiz Makeup
Alex C. Weldon Special Effects

Customer Reviews