Jimmy's Hall

Jimmy's Hall

Barry Ward
Director: Ken Loach Cast: Barry Ward
Barry Ward
, Francis Magee
Francis Magee
, Aileen Henry
Aileen Henry
Ken Loach


View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Wednesday, May 12


Political activist Jimmy Gralton (Barry Ward) returns to his hometown in Ireland in 1932 following a 10-year exile in America. He decides to reopen a community hall with the help of the locals, but faces opposition from both the government and a crotchety priest, who suspect the hall is a hotbed for loose morals and communist activity. Director Ken Loach won the Palme d'Or for his earlier film The Wind That Shakes the Barley, which explored the Irish Civil War of the 1920s; Jimmy's Hall, set a decade later, examines the lingering fissures of that war via the microcosm of Gralton's divided community. ~ Jack Rodgers

Product Details

Release Date: 11/17/2015
UPC: 0043396455344
Original Release: 2014
Rating: PG-13
Source: Sony Pictures Home
Sound: [Dolby AC-3 Surround Sound]
Sales rank: 48,615

Cast & Crew

Performance Credits
Barry Ward James Gralton
Francis Magee Mossie
Aileen Henry Alice
Simone Kirby Oonagh
Stella McGirl Stella
Sorcha Fox Molly
Martin Lucey Dessie
Mikel Murfi Tommy
Shane O'Brien Finn
Denise Gough Tess
Jim Norton Father Sheridan
Aisling Franciosi Marie
Sean T. O'Meallaigh Journalist
Karl Geary Sean
Brian F. O'Byrne Commander O'Keefe
Conor McDermottroe Doherty
John Cronogue Seamus Clarke
Seamus Hughes Ruari
Andrew Scott Father Seamus
Michael Sheridan Fintan
Rebecca O'Mara Mrs. O'Keefe
Diane Parkes Mossie's Wife
Padraig Fallon Roscommon IRA
Chris MacManus Roscommon IRA
Donal O'Kelly Roscommon IRA
John O'Dowd Steward
Anna Crossley Young Dancer
Rósín Judge Young Violinist
John McCarrick Mayor
Hugh Gallagher Senior Guard
Colm Gormley Guard
John Colleary Guard
Shane Cullen Guard
Joe Lafferty Guard
Tom Colsh Guard

Technical Credits
Ken Loach Director
Kevin Brazier Sound Editor
Pascal Caucheteux Executive Producer
Fergus Clegg Production Designer
Kahleen Crawford Casting
Stephen Daly Art Director
George Fenton Score Composer
Ed Guiney Executive Producer
Lynn Johnston Makeup
Paul Laverty Screenwriter
Andrew Lowe Executive Producer
Vincent Maraval Executive Producer
Eimhear McMahon Production Manager
Eimer Ni Mhaoldomhnaigh Costumes/Costume Designer
Jonathan Morris Editor
Rebecca O'Brien Producer
Robbie Ryan Cinematographer
Real SFX Special Effects
Gregoire Sorlat Executive Producer

Customer Reviews