Free Shipping on Orders of $40 or More
James and the Giant Peach

James and the Giant Peach

Simon Callow
Director: Henry Selick Cast: Simon Callow
Simon Callow
, Joanna Lumley
Joanna Lumley
, Richard Dreyfuss
Richard Dreyfuss
Henry Selick
James and the Giant Peach

James and the Giant Peach

Simon Callow
Director: Henry Selick Cast: Simon Callow
Simon Callow
, Joanna Lumley
Joanna Lumley
, Richard Dreyfuss
Richard Dreyfuss
Henry Selick

Blu-ray (Special Edition / Wide Screen / Bonus DVD)

Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Thursday, October 6


A young boy's discovery of a gigantic peach triggers an eventful journey across the sea in this strikingly designed and surprisingly twisted animated adventure. A live-action framing device establishes the dark yet fanciful mood one might expect from an adaptation of a Roald Dahl story, as young British lad James (Paul Terry) is orphaned by the death of his parents and forced to live with two cruel, repulsive aunts (played by noted British character actors Miriam Margolyes and Joanna Lumley of British TV hit Absolutely Fabulous). The visit of a mysterious stranger provides a means of escape, however, through a magic bag of "crocodile tongues" that bring about the appearance of the giant peach. The curious James soon winds up inside the fruit, at which point his body changes, and the film switches to a combination of stop-motion and digital animation. The new James meets up with a group of talking, oversized insects, including a vampish spider (voiced by Susan Sarandon), a sarcastic centipede (voiced by Richard Dreyfuss), and a matronly ladybug (voiced by Jane Leeves). These creatures become his traveling companions when the peach rolls into the Atlantic Ocean, and James and his new friends must brave a variety of dangers to reach the shore. Director Henry Selick provides further proof of the visual skill he demonstrated in The Nightmare Before Christmas, creating a fascinating, often eerie alternate universe, while Randy Newman provides the upbeat musical accompaniment. Young children may be disturbed by the story's creepier overtones, but the mixture of remarkable visuals, oddball characters, and off-kilter fantasy will appeal to all other audiences.

Related collections and offers

Product Details

Release Date: 08/03/2010
UPC: 0786936799521
Original Release: 1996
Rating: PG
Source: Walt Disney Video
Region Code: 1
Presentation: [Wide Screen]
Sound: [DTS 5.1-Channel Surround Sound, Dolby AC-3 Surround Sound]
Time: 1:19:00
Sales rank: 1,527

Special Features

Disc 1 - New! "Spike The Aunts" Interactive Game - Ring Up Major Points As You Play a Fun-Filled Game Inspired by The Movie's End Credits; ; Disc 2 -DVD Feature Film + Bonus; ; Behind the Scenes Look At The Making Of The Film; "Good News" Music Video Performed by Randy Newman; ; Original Theatrical Trailer

Cast & Crew

Performance Credits
Simon Callow Grasshopper
Joanna Lumley Aunt Spiker
Richard Dreyfuss Centipede
Jane Leeves Ladybug
Pete Postlethwaite Old Man
Miriam Margolyes Aunt Sponge/Glowworm
Paul Terry James
Susan Sarandon Spider
David Thewlis Earthworm
Steven Culp James' Father
Tony Haney Reporter #3
Al Nalbandian Cabby
Vanessa Redgrave Actor
Mike Starr Beat Cop
Guy Witcher Actor

Technical Credits
Henry Selick Director,Co-producer
Scott E. Anderson Special Effects
Agamemnon Andrianos Sound/Sound Designer
Steven L. Bloom Screenwriter
Tim Burton Producer
Brian Chavanne Casting
Jake Eberts Executive Producer
John S. Engel Co-producer
Robin Gurland Casting
Ros Hubbard Casting
John Hubbard Casting
Harley Jessup Production Designer
Karey Kirkpatrick Screenwriter
Pete Kozachik Cinematographer,Special Effects Supervisor
Hiro Narita Cinematographer
Randy Newman Score Composer,Songwriter
Denise Di Novi Executive Producer
Jonathan Roberts Screenwriter
Brian Rosen Co-producer
Blake Russell Art Director
Julie Slinger Costumes/Costume Designer
Richard Snell Makeup
Stan Webb Editor
Roald Dahl Source Author

Scene Index

Disc #1 -- James and the Giant Peach
1. Opening Credits/A Change In Circumstances [:00]
2. No Dreaming Allowed [:00]
3. "My Name Is James" [:00]
4. A Most Mysterious Man [:02]
5. Miraculous Growth [:00]
6. A Little Leftover Magic [:00]
7. "That's The Life" [4:34]
8. Peach On The Move [4:18]
9. Shark Attack! [3:32]
10. "Eating The Peach" [3:21]
11. Friends and Enemies [7:34]
12. A Navigational Error [3:15]
13. The Haunted Shipwreck [3:21]
14. Music Of The Soul [2:46]
15. "Family" [4:36]
16. The Rhinoceros [3:00]
17. New York City [3:41]
18. Legal Guardians [2:35]
19. Reunion [7:27]
20. Happily-Ever-Afters/ End Credits [4:57]

Customer Reviews