Jack the Ripper

Jack the Ripper

Michael Caine
Director: David Wickes Cast: Michael Caine
Michael Caine
, Armand Assante
Armand Assante
, Ray McAnally
Ray McAnally
David Wickes

DVD (Full Frame)

Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


TheTV movie Jack the Ripper endeavors to shed new light on one of the most notorious unsolved cases in history. The Ripper, of course, was the London serial killer who, in 1888, killed and disemboweled five prostitutes. Michael Caine stars not as the Ripper but as a Scotland-Yard inspector who is assigned to the case. The trail of evidence leads Caine to some astonishing suspects--including at least one member of the Royal Family. As the public clamors for an arrest in the case of the unsolved evisceration murders of five East End prostitutes, Abberline narrows down his list of suspects: the four most likely to have committed the murders, according to the inspector, are American-actor Richard Mansfield (Armand Assante), Queen Victoria's personal psychic (Ken Bones), a certain Dr. Acland (Richard Morant) and socialist-gadfly Lusk (Michael Gothard). The British government is also pressuring Abberline to produce the killer. Unfortunately, if Abberline were to publicly release all the clues at his disposal, the revelation would probably rock the Empire to its foundations.

Product Details

Release Date: 10/06/2009
UPC: 0883316211755
Original Release: 1988
Rating: NR
Source: Warner Archives
Presentation: [Full Frame]
Time: 3:08:00
Sales rank: 15,303

Cast & Crew

Performance Credits
Michael Caine Frederick Abberline
Armand Assante Richard Mansfield
Ray McAnally Sir William Gull
Lewis Collins Sgt. George Godley
Ken Bones Lees
Michael Gothard George Lusk
Richard Morant Dr. Acland
Susan George Catherine Eddowes
Jane Seymour Emma
Harry Andrews Coroner Wynne Baxter
Lysette Anthony Mary Jane Kelly
Roger Ashton-Griffiths Rodman
Peter Armitage Sergeant Kelly
Mike Carnel Newsvendor
Ann Castle Lady Gull
Dierdre Costello Annie Chapman
Jon Croft Mr. Thackeray
Angela Crow Liz Stride
John Dair Isenschmid
Roy Evans Doorkeeper
John Fletcher P.C. Watkins
Hugh Fraser Sir Charles Warren
Christopher Fulford Sergeant Brent,Beggar
Bruce Green Pizer
Ronald Hines Henry Matthews
Denys Hawthorne Assistant Commissioner
Michael Hughes Dr. Llewellyn
Peter Hughes Mr. Paulson
Frank Jarvis 1st Passerby
Edward Judd DCS Arnold
Gertan Klauber Diemschutz
Jon Laurimore Inspector Spratling
Gary Love Derek
George Malpas Old Man
Eric Mason Publican
Jonathan Moore Benjamin Bates
T.P. McKenna O'Connor
John Normington Dresser
Neville Phillips Cabinet Secretary
David Ryall Bowyer
Gary Shail Pimp
Gerald Sim Doctor Bagster Phillips
George Sweeney John Netley
David Swift Lord Salisbury
Norman Warwick Richardson
Brian Weske Porter

Technical Credits
David Wickes Director,Screenwriter
John Blezard Production Designer
John Cameron Score Composer
Alan Hume Cinematographer
Keith Palmer Editor
Tony Reading Production Designer

Customer Reviews