B&N Audiobooks Subscription = SAVINGS. Sign Up Today for a Free Book!
In the Name of the Father

In the Name of the Father

Daniel Day-Lewis
Director: Jim Sheridan Cast: Daniel Day-Lewis
Daniel Day-Lewis
, Pete Postlethwaite
Pete Postlethwaite
, Emma Thompson
Emma Thompson
Jim Sheridan


View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Tuesday, July 5


The My Left Foot team of star Daniel Day-Lewis and director Jim Sheridan were reunited to make this political docudrama about Irish citizen Gerry Conlon (Day-Lewis), who was wrongly convicted of taking part in an IRA bombing that killed five in Guildford, England in 1974. After a brutal interrogation forces him to sign a false confession, Gerry is sentenced to prison, his family is raked over the coals, and later his father Giuseppe (Pete Postelthwaite) is charged with being an accomplice and is also sent to prison where he lives out the last days of his life. Day-Lewis gives an outstanding performance as a man tormented by the injustice served him. Watch for Emma Thompson as the persevering lawyer who works for years, gathering evidence to clear Gerry's name.

Related collections and offers

Product Details

Release Date: 07/21/2020
UPC: 0191329143223
Original Release: 1993
Rating: R
Source: Universal
Time: 2:13:00
Sales rank: 27,794

Cast & Crew

Performance Credits
Daniel Day-Lewis Gerald Conlon
Pete Postlethwaite Guiseppe Conlon
Emma Thompson Gareth Peirce
John Lynch Paul Hill
Corin Redgrave Robert Dixon
Beatie Edney Carole Richardson
John Benfield Chief PO Barker
Gerard McSorley Belfast Detective Pavis
Frank Harper Ronnie Smalls
Don Baker Joe McAndrew
Britta Smith Anne Maguire
Daniel Massey Prosecutor
Bosco Hogan Defense Counsel
Gary Hudson Nick Sharkey
Michelle Moffett Carol
Nuala Moiselle Actor
Patsy Pollock Actor
Robert Sampson Actor
Brandy Sanders Elaine
Brenda Swanson Judy Miller
Jan-Michael Vincent Tom
Lawrence Hilton-Jacobs Actor
George Shannon Actor
Philip King Guildford Soldier
Frankie McCafferty Tommo
Julian Walsh Soldier
Saffron Burrows Girl in Commune
Joe McPartland Charlie Burke
Stanley Townsend Hooker's Driver
Tony Denham Detective
Rob Spendlove Detective
Philip Davis Detective
Martin Murphy Detective
Richard Graham Detective
Oliver Maguire Detective
Rachel Dowling Policewoman
Tina Kellegher Policewoman
Joe Jeffers Young Patrick Maguire
Sean Lawlor Remand Prison Officer
Aidan Grenell Trial Judge
Dave Duffy Prison Officer
Martin Dunne Prison Officer
Mal Whyte Cockney Prisoner
Jer O'Leary Prisoner John O'Brien
Paul Savage Prisoner
Malcolm Tierney Home Office Official
Paul Raynor New Chief Prison Officer
Darren McHugh Dixon's Son
Peter Campbell Government Official
Alan Barry Archivist Jenkins
Jonathan Ryan Scottish Governor
Liam O'Callaghan Archivist 2
Denys Hawthorne Appeal Judge
Tom Wilkinson Appeal Prosecutor
Lou Castel Salvatore
Ronan Wilmot Paddy Maguire
Anthony Brophy Danny
Fiona Daly IRA Woman
Jamie Harris Deptford Jim

Technical Credits
Jim Sheridan Director,Producer,Screenwriter
Mary Alleguen Production Designer
Caroline Amies Production Designer
Joan Bergin Costumes/Costume Designer
Peter Biziou Cinematographer
Rick Butler Art Director
Gabriel Byrne Executive Producer
Terry George Screenwriter
Gerry Hambling Editor
Trevor Jones Score Composer
Arthur Lappin Co-producer
Tom Brown Art Director
Gerry Toomey Asst. Director
Joss Williams Special Effects

Customer Reviews