Hysteria: The Def Leppard Story

Hysteria: The Def Leppard Story

Karl Geary
Director: Robert Mandel Cast: Karl Geary
Karl Geary
, Orlando Seale
Orlando Seale
, Adam MacDonald
Adam MacDonald
Robert Mandel

DVD (Full Frame)



The saga of pop metal superstars Def Leppard is told in this biopic, produced by cable television music channel VH1. The film traces the band's history from their origins as a teenage hard rock act in the English industrial town of Sheffield to the massive success they enjoyed worldwide as multi-platinum recording artists. Def Leppard's rise to the top is depicted as driven by rabidly dedicated lead singer Joe Elliott (Orlando Seale), though along with the money, supermodels and parties there are tragedies as well. Original guitarist Pete Willis (Nick Bagnall) is sacked when excessive drink affects his performance, drummer Rick Allen (Tat Whalley) loses an arm in a car accident and must endure grueling effort to learn how to play again, and lead guitarist Steve Clark (Karl Geary) struggles with alcoholism as he bounces in and out of rehab centers. Through all the tribulations and excess, however, the band sticks together like brothers and fights to keep rocking as a unit.

Product Details

Release Date: 01/25/2005
UPC: 0097368748446
Original Release: 2001
Rating: R
Source: Paramount
Region Code: 1
Presentation: [Full Frame]
Time: 1:29:00

Special Features

Closed Caption; [None specified]

Cast & Crew

Performance Credits
Karl Geary Steve Clark
Orlando Seale Joe Elliott
Adam MacDonald Rick Savage
Esteban Powell Phil Collen
Tat Whalley Rick Allen
Anthony Michael Hall Mutt Lange
Nigel Harvey Rick Allen's Father
Amber Valletta Lorelei Shellist
Priscilla Mouzakiotis Miriam Barendsen
Larry Day Joe Elliot Sr.
Nick Bagnall Pete Willis
Dean McDermott Peter Mensch
Brett Watson Tony Kenning

Technical Credits
Robert Mandel Director
Christopher Ames Screenwriter
Claude Castravelli Producer
Patricia Clifford Producer
Carolyn Shelby Screenwriter

Scene Index

Side #1 --
1. Crash [5:08]
2. A Band Is Born [6:13]
3. Showtime [3:59]
4. Demo Daze [4:47]
5. Hello America [5:22]
6. Getting it Right [4:30]
7. The New Guitar [7:05]
8. Gold, Girls and Glory [5:59]
9. One Man Down [6:25]
10. Feel the Pain [4:45]
11. Downbeat [7:20]
12. Coming Back [5:27]
13. More Than Serious [4:04]
14. Rehab Blues [3:54]
15. The Hard Road Back [4:02]
16. Last Chance Dance [9:36]

Customer Reviews