John Abbott
Director: Jean Negulesco Cast: John Abbott
John Abbott
, Joan Crawford
Joan Crawford
, John Garfield
John Garfield
Jean Negulesco

DVD (Subtitled / Full Frame)



Fannie Hurst's novel Humoresque is the lachrymose tale of a famed Jewish-American violinist who forgets all about his friends and family in his rise to fame. Screenwriters Clifford Odets and Zachary Gold refashioned this timeworn material into a first-class, big-budget soap opera, completely dominated by the high-octane talents of Joan Crawford and John Garfield. A gifted musician, Garfield rises from the slums to the upper echelons of society, thanks to the patronage of wealthy, alcoholic Crawford. Virtually ignored by her husband Paul Cavanaugh, Crawford adopts Garfield as her lover as well as her protégé. He is only mildly offended by the setup; she, on the other hand, becomes jealous and possessive. It is not a woman who comes between Crawford and Garfield: it the intensity of his talent, not to mention the spectre of the great composers whose works he interprets so brilliantly. Garfield's virago of a mother (Ruth Nelson) feeds upon Crawford's jealousy, planting the seeds of guilt for (allegedly) holding her son back. Finally, Crawford is driven to suicide; in a brilliantly directed and photographed sequence, she walks into the ocean, as Garfield is heard over the radio, playing "Liebstod" from Wagner's Tristan und Isolde with full orchestral accompaniment. The ultrastylish suffering of Joan Crawford and the street-punk insouciance of John Garfield (who looks like a "Dead End Kid" even while wearing a tux) is counterpointed by the phlegmatic comedy relief of Oscar Levant. Together with Mildred Pierce, Humoresque is the best of the Warner Bros. Joan Crawford vehicles.

Product Details

Release Date: 05/09/2017
UPC: 0888574488536
Original Release: 1946
Rating: NR
Source: Warner Archives
Presentation: [Full Frame]
Time: 2:04:00

Special Features

Featurette The Music of Humoresque Theatrical Trailer

Cast & Crew

Performance Credits
John Abbott Rozner
Joan Crawford Helen Wright
John Garfield Paul Boray
Paul Cavanagh Victor Wright
Oscar Levant Sid Jeffers
J. Carrol Naish Rudy Boray
Joan Chandler Gina
Tommy Cook Phil Boray as a Child
Tom D'Andrea Phil Boray
Peggy Knudsen Florence
Peg La Centra Nightclub Singer
Fritz Leiber Hagerstrom
Don McGuire Eddie
Ruth Nelson Esther Boray
Nestor Paiva Orchestra Leader
Craig Stevens Monte Loeffler
Richard "Hock" Walsh Teddy
Ann Lawrence Florence as a Girl
Don Turner Man with Dog
Sylvia Arslan Gina as a Girl
Richard Gaines Bauer
Patricia Barry Fritzie the Telephone Operator
Monte Blue Furniture Moving Man
Creighton Hale Professor
Robert Blake Paul Boray (younger)

Technical Credits
Jean Negulesco Director
Adrian Costumes/Costume Designer
Roy Davidson Special Effects
Rudi Fehr Editor
Leo F. Forbstein Musical Direction/Supervision
Zachary Gold Screenwriter
Ernest Haller Cinematographer
Bernard Newman Costumes/Costume Designer
Clifford Odets Screenwriter
Hugh Reticker Art Director
Clarence I. Steensen Set Decoration/Design
Isaac Stern Consultant/advisor
Jerry Wald Producer
Franz Waxman Score Composer

Scene Index

Disc #1 -- Humoresque
1. Credits [1:11]
2. Your Biography [3:25]
3. Paul's Choice [4:18]
4. Maybe He'll Be Different [3:01]
5. Gina's Declaration [4:36]
6. No Guarantees [5:17]
7. Nearly on the Radio [3:34]
8. City Montage [2:45]
9. Broken Record [3:34]
10. Messrs. Wright and Wrong [3:10]
11. Party Performance [3:42]
12. The Flight of the Bumblebee [2:26]
13. Interested in Him [4:33]
14. Concert Debut [4:31]
15. Great Gifts [5:13]
16. Among Her Possessions [4:55]
17. Tiresome Talk [3:39]
18. The Truth [2:12]
19. Mother's Advice [3:21]
20. Easy Does It, Gina [4:04]
21. Don't Close Me Out [1:37]
22. Symphony Espagnole [2:04]
23. You Know What She Is [4:59]
24. Hitting the Bull's Eye [5:01]
25. Carmen Fantasie [3:17]
26. Tired of Second Fiddle [5:11]
27. Conflicted Love [4:04]
28. Leave Him Alone [4:07]
29. She's All Alone [2:49]
30. Tristand and Isolde Fantasie [4:34]
31. Finale Ultimo [4:04]
32. Nothing Comes Free [6:26]
33. Cast List [1:51]
34. Chapter 34 [:35]

Customer Reviews