Luke Wilson
Director: Wil Shriner Cast: Luke Wilson
Luke Wilson
, Logan Lerman
Logan Lerman
, Brie Larson
Brie Larson
Wil Shriner

DVD (Color / Wide Screen)

$13.49 $14.99 Save 10% Current price is $13.49, Original price is $14.99. You Save 10%.
Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


Three kids have an unexpected adventure as they try to protect some rare birds in this comedy drama based on a book for young adults by Carl Hiaasen. Roy Eberhardt (Logan Lerman) is a 14-year-old boy whose family has moved so often he's literally lost count of the number of times he's changed schools in the last ten years. Roy ought to be used to being the new kid at school by now, but making the switch from the big sky of Montana to the Gulf Coast of Florida proves to be a major challenge. While Roy quickly becomes the target of school bully Dana Matherson (Eric Phillips), he's befriended by Beatrice Leep (Brie Larson), a spunky girl with enough nerve to stand up to Dana, and her brother Mullet Fingers (Cody Linley). Beatrice and Mullet share their big secret with Roy -- they have a hidden hideaway where they look after a flock of wild owls. The owls in question are on the endangered species list, but that's of little concern to Chuck Muckle (Clark Gregg), a top executive from the Mother Paula's All-American Pancake House chain, who is planning to build a new restaurant in the hollow where the owls nest. Roy, Beatrice, and Mullet are determined to find a way to save the owls, but Muckle and his right-hand man, Curly Brannitt (Tim Blake Nelson), are less interested in saving the birds than in turning a profit. The kids have a plan, however, and they uncover some evidence of interest to David Delinko (Luke Wilson), a well-meaning but slow-witted policeman investigating some dirty doings tied in to the pancake house. Hoot features a handful of new recordings from popular Florida musician Jimmy Buffett, who also helped produce the film.

Product Details

Release Date: 08/15/2006
UPC: 0794043103599
Original Release: 2006
Rating: PG
Source: New Line Home Video
Region Code: 1
Presentation: [Wide Screen, Color]
Sound: [Dolby Digital 5.1 Surround]
Time: 1:30:00
Sales rank: 36,790

Special Features

Closed Caption; Watch: a group of owls migrate to a safe new home; Build: an animal sanctuary in your own backyard; Meet: the kids in the cast (Brie gives you the inside scoop!); Teach: owls, snakes and alligators to be movie stars; Discover: the people who care for sick and endangered birds; Hang: with Jimmy Buffet as he prepares for his close-up; Sneak: behind the scenes with the director of Hoot; Laugh: along with the blooper reel; See: more of Hoot through its deleted scenes; Play: 3 fun DVD-ROM games - fishfood, monkey see, monkey do, & treefrog

Cast & Crew

Performance Credits
Luke Wilson Officer David Delinko
Logan Lerman Roy Eberhardt
Brie Larson Beatrice Leep
Tim Blake Nelson Curly Branitt
Cody Linley Mullet Fingers
Neil Flynn Mr. Eberhardt
Clark Gregg Chuck Muckle
Kiersten Warren Mrs. Eberhardt
Jessica Cauffiel Mother Paula/Kilmberly
Dean Collins Garrett
Eric Phillips Dana Matherson
Robert Wagner Mayor Grandy
Robert Donner Actor

Technical Credits
Wil Shriner Director,Co-producer,Screenwriter
Walter P. Anderson Sound/Sound Designer
Alan Edward Bell Editor
Jimmy Buffett Score Composer,Producer
Savannah Jane Buffett Musical Direction/Supervision
Michael Chapman Cinematographer
Michael Disco Co-producer
Toby Emmerich Executive Producer
Richard Fojo Art Director
Cathy Sandrich Gelfond Casting
Carl Hiaasen Co-producer
Mark Kaufman Co-producer
Christopher Lawrence Costumes/Costume Designer
Rob Lieber Screenwriter
Stephen Lineweaver Production Designer
Amanda Mackey Casting
Phil Marshall Score Composer
Frank Marshall Producer
Mac McAnally Score Composer
Michael Utley Score Composer
Kevin Reidy Executive Producer
Greg "Fingers" Taylor Executive Producer
Gregg Taylor Executive Producer

Scene Index

Disc #1 -- Hoot
1. Main Titles [2:21]
2. New Kid [4:21]
3. Chasing Mullet [3:30]
4. Vandalism [4:29]
5. Stakeout [2:41]
6. Confronting Bullies [3:13]
7. Mullet's Hideout [4:04]
8. Delivering Shoes [6:52]
9. Muckie's 100th [5:28]
10. Dana's Revenge [3:38]
11. The Dog Bite [8:43]
12. Nature Tour [4:40]
13. Dana's Arrest [3:46]
14. Overnight Guest [2:51]
15. Missing Seat [3:42]
16. The Plan [8:58]
17. Ground Breaking [4:10]
18. Roy's Speech [7:13]
19. Happy Ending [1:54]
20. Credits [3:56]

Customer Reviews