Hank Williams: Honky Tonk Blues

Hank Williams: Honky Tonk Blues

Hank Williams
Director: Morgan Neville Cast: Hank Williams
Morgan Neville


Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


This documentary on the life and career of troubled country music icon Hank Williams -- produced in collaboration with the BBC and PBS -- comes to DVD in a fine if unexceptional release. Hank Williams: Honky Tonk Blues has been transferred to disc in letterboxed format at the widescreen aspect ratio of 1.78:1, as it was originally aired, and the images are clear and sharp, with strong color values, though some shots appear to have been anamorphically "stretched" to fit the aspect ratio. The audio has been mastered in PCM Stereo, and makes the most of the vintage recordings featured throughout. The program is in English, with no multiple language options or subtitles included. Bonus materials include a gallery of still photos (most of which were used in the film), a number of interview extracts not used in the film, a brief look at what happened to the major players in the Hank Williams story following his death, and a chat with Billie Jean Horton, who was Williams' wife in the last months of his life. The documentary also appears in a longer cut than what appeared on American television, and the results ought to please fans of the legendary Hank Williams, as well as those curious about the great man's story.

Product Details

Release Date: 06/08/2004
UPC: 0602498626368
Original Release: 2004
Source: Mercury Nashville
Region Code: 0
Time: 0:45:00
Sales rank: 37,765

Special Features

Director's cut, over 30 extra minutes, plus 15 minutes of bonus features and a photo gallery filled with unreleased photos

Cast & Crew

Scene Index

Side #1 --
1. Intro/Opening Credits [3:31]
2. The Legacy of Hank Williams [5:11]
3. The Log Train [1:15]
4. Tee Tot [2:45]
5. Montgomery [8:17]
6. Miss Audrey [5:34]
7. Move it On Over [2:03]
8. The Louisiana Hayride [2:23]
9. Lovesick Blues [3:47]
10. Grand Ole Opry [4:11]
11. Lost Highway [2:31]
12. There's a Tear in My Beer [4:42]
13. Hadacol [3:29]
14. Ramblin' Man [3:25]
15. New York [:24]
16. Cold Cold Heart [4:09]
17. Luke the Drifter [2:21]
18. Weary Blues From Waitin' [2:58]
19. Bobbie Jett [2:09]
20. Billie Jean [1:04]
21. Fired From the Opry [2:02]
22. Wedding Bells [1:55]
23. Back to the Beerjoints [2:41]
24. The Angel of Death [2:12]
25. Midnight [3:57]
26. I Saw the Light [2:10]
27. Credits [1:16]

Customer Reviews