Get Thrashed: The Story of Thrash Metal

Get Thrashed: The Story of Thrash Metal

Director: Rick Ernst Cast: Metallica
, Megadeth
, Slayer
Rick Ernst




Explore the blistering rise, brutal fall, and lasting impact of thrash metal in this documentary focusing on some of the hardest and heaviest music of the 1980s and early 1990s. The time was the 1980s, and a collection of ambitious young bands from Los Angeles, the Bay Area, and New York City were seeking to create a new and exhilarating brand of music. The result was a scene so extreme and powerful that the poseurs were separated from the hardcore fans as soon as each concert started. There was no doubting those who were in it for real, and from Anthrax and Exodus to Slayer, Megadeth, and Metallica, it seemed as if thrash was a musical force to be reckoned with. But that all changed in the early 1990s, when a shifting musical landscape revealed grunge, not thrash, to be the dominant form of "hard rock." Though a precious few trash bands like Metallica would still go on to achieve unprecedented levels of fame, most would simply languish and fade away as the grunge trend took over. Despite the fact that the scene had changed, the music would live on through the artists and fans who never forgot the thrill of the thrash.

Product Details

Release Date: 05/01/2018
UPC: 0883929022564
Original Release: 2006
Source: Lightyear Video
Sound: [Dolby Digital Stereo]
Time: 1:39:00

Special Features

Extras thrash scenes and band footage; "Thrash Worldwide" guide & map; Liner notes by Gary Holt; Director's commentary

Cast & Crew

Performance Credits
Metallica Participant
Megadeth Participant
Slayer Participant
Anthrax Participant
Exodus Participant
Kreator Participant
Suicidal Tendencies Participant
Ulysses Siren Participant
Warning SF Participant
Osmium Participant
Law Participant
Concrete Coffin Participant
Exit to Eternity Participant
Steve Cone Participant
Kronin Participant
Urto Participant
Nocturnal Fear Participant
Kaos Participant
Response Negative Participant
Viscid Participant
Slipknot Participant
Testament Participant
Lamb of God Participant
Hatebreed Participant
Overkill Participant
Killswitch Engage Participant
Destruction Participant
In Flames Participant
Shadows Fall Participant
Sepultura Participant

Technical Credits
Rick Ernst Director,Editor,Producer,Screenwriter
Rat Skates Associate Producer

Scene Index

Disc #1 -- Get Thrashed: The Story of Thrash Metal
1. Intro [5:29]
2. Thrash Metal Is Born [5:08]
3. Metallica [7:33]
4. Megadeth [4:41]
5. The LA Scene [2:10]
6. Slayer [5:02]
7. The Bay Area Scene [3:09]
8. Exodus [7:37]
9. Thrash Metal Fans [2:20]
10. The Dress Code [3:00]
11. Headbanging/Stage Diving/Moshing [2:36]
12. The NY Scene [5:43]
13. Anthrax [5:15]
14. Crossover [4:47]
15. Suicidal Tendencies [3:48]
16. The Road [5:37]
17. The German Scene [2:56]
18. Kreator [2:21]
19. Celtic Frost [:26]
20. Voivod [:31]
21. Sepultura [:59]
22. Clash of the Titans [5:17]
23. Pantera [3:11]
24. Nu Metal Vs. New Metal [5:42]
25. The Legacy Remains [2:13]
26. Credits [2:15]

Customer Reviews