Jessie Matthews
Director: Sonnie Hale Cast: Jessie Matthews
Jessie Matthews
, Barry Mackay
Barry Mackay
, Olive Blakeney
Olive Blakeney
Sonnie Hale

DVD (Black & White)

$19.03 $19.99 Save 5% Current price is $19.03, Original price is $19.99. You Save 5%.
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Friday, April 3


In this musical, a plucky London newspaper journalist boards a transatlantic ocean liner in hopes of interviewing a prominent Hollywood starlet. She is followed by a Scotland Yard inspector who is looking for the jewel thief he knows is on board. Unfortunately, the inspector doesn't know the actual identity of the thief and his prime suspect becomes the hapless reporter who also finds herself pursued by a determined gangster who has made the same assumption. Before the boat docks in New York, the reporter is kidnapped and forced to work for the gangster's boss. Fortunately, the inspector finally discovers the thief's true identity and brings her to justice. The plot is based on a Dwight Taylor story.

Product Details

Release Date: 11/26/2013
UPC: 0089859883521
Original Release: 1937
Source: Vci Video
Region Code: 1
Presentation: [B&W]
Sound: [Dolby Digital Stereo]
Time: 1:31:00
Sales rank: 46,911

Cast & Crew

Performance Credits
Jessie Matthews Pat Wayne
Barry Mackay Inspector Bob Deering
Olive Blakeney Nedda Beaumont
Liane Ordeyne Greta Brand
Patrick Ludlow Carl Freemason
Nat Pendleton "Smiles" Hogan
Noel Madison Mike Otterman
Alastair Sim Taggett
Doris Rogers Mrs. Van Tuyl
Lawrence Anderson Tracy
Blake Dorn Benny, the Gent
Graham Moffatt Joe
Peter Gawthorne Assistant Commissioner
Henry Hallatt Smithers
Warren Jenkins Foreign Dancer
Bennie Dorn Actor
Danny Green Shorty
Edmon Ryan Red Mike

Technical Credits
Sonnie Hale Director,Screenwriter
Michael Balcon Producer
Al Barnes Editor
Buddy Bradley Choreography
Al Goodhart Songwriter
Al Hoffman Songwriter
Sam Lerner Songwriter
Louis Levy Score Composer
Glen MacWilliams Cinematographer
Lesser Samuels Screenwriter
Dwight Taylor Original Story

Scene Index

Disc #1 -- Gangway
1. Chapter 1 [4:56]
2. Chapter 2 [5:41]
3. Chapter 3 [6:41]
4. Chapter 4 [5:06]
5. Chapter 5 [7:40]
6. Chapter 6 [8:53]
7. Chapter 7 [7:23]
8. Chapter 8 [6:02]
9. Chapter 9 [7:51]
10. Chapter 10 [5:42]
11. Chapter 11 [9:30]
12. Chapter 12 [11:19]
13. Chapter 13 [:03]

Customer Reviews