Female Vampire

Female Vampire

Jesùs Franco
 Cast: Jesùs Franco
Jesùs Franco
, Lina Romay
Lina Romay
, Jack Taylor
Jack Taylor
, Alice Arno
Alice Arno

DVD (Remastered / Dubbed)

$23.90 $24.99 Save 4% Current price is $23.9, Original price is $24.99. You Save 4%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Monday, March 2
1 New & Used Starting at $18.91


This erotic vampire film from cult filmmaker Jesus Franco concerns the mute Countess Irina Karlstein (Lina Romay), who lives in the hills of Madeira and preys on passersby. Austrian novelist Baron Von Rathony (Jack Taylor) follows the Countess, knowing that she is his destiny, even if it means death. Monica Swinn, Marie-France Broquet, and Luis Barboo co-star, while Franco appears as a forensic surgeon and Jean-Pierre Bouyxou (in an outrageous beard) is featured as Dr. Orloff, Franco's blind colleague. Several different versions exist, including a horror version of 72 minutes, an 82-minute version dwelling on oral sex, and a 96-minute edit which includes both sex and horror elements as well as some hardcore inserts. Complicating matters is the fact that some scenes of vampirism were filmed twice, in graphic and traditional styles. Whatever the version, La Comtesse Noire is erotic, melancholy, and benefits from a haunting performance by Romay as the cursed vampire.

Product Details

Release Date: 10/16/2012
UPC: 0738329105525
Original Release: 1973
Rating: NR
Source: Redemption
Time: 1:40:00
Sales rank: 30,713

Special Features

Extended erotic version: Female Vampire (100 min.); Standard horror version: Erotikill (70 min., English only); "Destiny In Soft Focus: Jess Franco Remembers Female Vampire," a new documentary by Elijah Drenner and David Gregory; "Words For Lina," a tribute by co-star Jean -Pierre Bouyxou, produced by Daniel Gouyette; Original theatrical trailer

Cast & Crew

Scene Index

Disc #1 -- Female Vampire
1. Pleasure And Pain [:10]
2. Mute Countess [9:28]
3. Autopsy [9:28]
4. Hypnotized [11:17]
5. Intruder [8:33]
6. Bedpost [10:30]
7. Torture Chamber [12:22]
8. Nature Walk [8:07]
9. Strange House [8:41]
10. Why? [12:24]
11. Chapter 11 [9:32]

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews