Fear in the Night

Fear in the Night

Paul Kelly
Director: Maxwell Shane Cast: Paul Kelly
Paul Kelly
, DeForest Kelley
DeForest Kelley
, Ann Doran
Ann Doran
Maxwell Shane


$9.99 View All Available Formats & Editions
Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


One of several low-budget mellers directed by scriptwriter Maxwell Shane, Fear in the Night was based on the short story Nightmare by William Irish (pseudonym for Cornell Woolrich). In his first starring role, DeForest Kelley plays Vince Grayson, a young man who has a terrible nightmare wherein he sees himself killing someone. When he awakens, Vince finds a couple of pieces of evidence indicating that his dream was no dream. Detective Cliff Herlihy (Paul Kelly) doesn't believe that Vince has killed anyone, but agrees to investigate. While taking shelter from a storm in a remote mansion, the detective and the young man stumble upon a mirrored room -- just like the one in Vince's dream. The frenzied Vince is nearly driven to suicide, but Detective Herlihy deduces that his friend's nightmare was the handiwork of Lewis Belnap (Robert Emmett Keane), the mansion's owner, who is a dabbler in hypnosis. Fear in the Night was remade in 1956 as Nightmare, with Kevin McCarthy and Edward G. Robinson.

Product Details

Release Date: 11/22/2016
UPC: 0889290490513
Original Release: 1947
Source: Film Detective
Time: 1:12:00
Sales rank: 41,440

Cast & Crew

Performance Credits
Paul Kelly Cliff Herlihy
DeForest Kelley Vince Grayson
Ann Doran Lil Herlihy
Kay Scott Betty Winters
Robert Emmett Keane Lewis Belnap
Charles Victor Capt. Warner
Gladys Blake Bank Clerk
Jack Collins Actor
Leander de Cordova Man
Chris Drake Elevator Operator
Stanley Farrar Patron
Julia Faye Mrs. Tracey-Lytton
John Harmon Mr. Bilyou
Michael Martin Harvey Bob Clune
Dick Keane Lewis Belknap
Joey Ray Contractor
Janet Warren Mrs. Belnap
Jeff York Torrence

Technical Credits
Maxwell Shane Director,Screenwriter
John H. Greenhalgh Cinematographer
William Pine Producer
Elias H. Reif Set Decoration/Design
Harry Reif Set Decoration/Design
Rudy Schrager Score Composer
Howard A. Smith Editor
F. Paul Sylos Art Director
William C. Thomas Producer

Customer Reviews