B&N Audiobooks Subscription = SAVINGS. Sign Up Today for a Free Book!
Eye of the Devil

Eye of the Devil

Deborah Kerr
Director: J. Lee Thompson Cast: Deborah Kerr
Deborah Kerr
, David Niven
David Niven
, Donald Pleasence
Donald Pleasence
J. Lee Thompson


View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Thursday, July 7


A fine cast distinguishes this unusual supernatural thriller. When London-based vintner Phillippe de Montfaucon (David Niven) receives the bad news that dry weather is expected to destroy crops in his vineyard in France for the third year in a row, he immediately leaves for his castle on the continent, Bellenac, instructing his wife Catherine (Deborah Kerr) to stay behind with their children. However, Catherine's curiosity gets the better of her and she arrives at Bellenac to discover that the villagers who tend the grapes and watch the castle are members of a pagan cult, and that they believe the death of Marquis may be required for the future health of the crops. While pre-release editing left its narrative a bit fragmented, Eye of the Devil is certainly notable for its cast, which includes Donald Pleasance, Edward Mulhare, David Hemmings, and Sharon Tate. Kim Novak was originally cast as Catherine, but was forced to bow out midway through shooting due to an injury.

Related collections and offers

Product Details

Release Date: 10/26/2021
UPC: 0883929780969
Original Release: 1967
Source: Warner Archives
Sales rank: 14,992

Cast & Crew

Performance Credits
Deborah Kerr Catherine de Montfaucon
David Niven Philippe de Montfaucon
Donald Pleasence Pere Dominic
Edward Mulhare Jean-Claude Ibert
Flora Robson Countess Estelle
Sharon Tate Odile
Emlyn Williams Alain de Montfaucon
David Hemmings Christian de Caray
John Le Mesurier Dr. Monnet
Michael Miller Grandec
Donald Bisset Rennard
Robert Duncan Jacques de Montfaucon
Suky Appleby Antoinette de Montfaucon
Pauline Letts Servant

Technical Credits
J. Lee Thompson Director
John Calley Producer
Robin Estridge Screenwriter
John Furness Costumes/Costume Designer
John Furniss Costumes/Costume Designer
Julie Harris Costumes/Costume Designer
Erwin Hillier Cinematographer
Gary McFarland Score Composer
Dennis Murphy Screenwriter
Martin Ransohoff Producer
Basil Rayburn Asst. Director
Elliot Scott Art Director
Sydney Streeter Production Manager
Ernest Walter Editor

Customer Reviews