Elgar's Tenth Muse: The Life of an English Composer

Elgar's Tenth Muse: The Life of an English Composer

Director: Paul Yule Cast: James Fox, Faith Brook, Selma Alispahic

DVD (Letterbox / Stereo)

$18.87 $19.99 Save 6% Current price is $18.87, Original price is $19.99. You Save 6%.


The hour-long feature Elgar's Tenth Muse: The Life of an English Composer hearkens back to early 20th century Great Britain. Within the framework of that time and place, the film dramatizes the affections that blossomed between English Romantic composer Edward Elgar (James Fox) and the tenth woman who functioned as his muse, his depthless well of creative inspiration - the lithe and sensual young Hungarian violinist called Jelly d'Aranyi (Faith Brook). Selma Alispahic and Rupert Frazer co-star; the film features classical performances by violinists Maxim Vengerov and Natalie Clein.

Product Details

Release Date: 08/28/2007
UPC: 0032031422490
Original Release: 1996
Source: Kultur Video
Region Code: 1
Presentation: [Letterbox]
Sound: [stereo]
Time: 0:51:00

Cast & Crew

Performance Credits
James Fox Sir Edward Elgar
Faith Brook Lady Elgar
Selma Alispahic Jelly d'Aranyi
Rupert Frazer Billy Reed
Natalie Clein Cello
BBC Symphony Orchestra Actor
Andrew Davis Conductor

Technical Credits
Paul Yule Director
Belinda Allen Associate Producer
Jette Bonnevie Associate Producer
David Brockhurst Production Designer
Susan Francis Producer
Nigel Gearing Screenwriter
Waldemar Januszczak Executive Producer
John Kelleher Executive Producer
Susan Spivey Editor
Robin Vidgeon Cinematographer

Scene Index

Disc #1 -- Elgar's Tenth's Muse: The Life of an English Composer
1. Lady Elgar [8:40]
2. Meeting Jelly [8:47]
3. New-Found Enthusiasm [6:35]
4. Private Performance [11:01]
5. Loneliness [13:37]
6. Natalie Clein [2:24]

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews