El Violin

El Violin

Angel Tavira Maldonado
Director: Francisco Vargas Cast: Angel Tavira Maldonado
Angel Tavira Maldonado
, Dagoberto Gama
Dagoberto Gama
, Fermin Martinez
Fermin Martinez
Francisco Vargas

DVD (Subtitled)

$19.26 $19.99 Save 4% Current price is $19.26, Original price is $19.99. You Save 4%.
Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


Filmmaker Francisco Vargas makes his feature-film debut with this expansion of his well-received short film detailing the struggle between the peasants and military in 1970s-era Mexico. Don Plutarco (Angel Tavira) is a dignified elder who, along with his son Genaro (Gerardo Taracena) and grandson Lucio (Mario Garibaldi), makes his living as a traveling musician. On the side, the trio secretly smuggles weapons and supplies to the freedom fighters who are bravely attempting to overthrow the oppressive regime. When the trio returns to their hometown to find that it has been occupied by the army in their absence and the villagers have been forced to flee, Genaro departs in hopes of salvaging their supplies while Plutarco boldly approaches the squad captain (Dagoberto Gama) with the intention of personally recovering the ammunition on the sly. An outwardly harmless old man who convinces the captain to allow him access to the cornfields in exchange for playing music, Plutarco slowly but surely begins smuggling the ammunition back into the village in his violin case as the unsuspecting military man ravenously gorges himself into oblivion.

Product Details

Release Date: 05/27/2008
UPC: 0616892950622
Original Release: 2006
Rating: NR
Source: Film Movement
Time: 1:48:00
Sales rank: 47,222

Special Features

Closed Caption

Cast & Crew

Performance Credits
Angel Tavira Maldonado Don Plutarco Hidalgo
Dagoberto Gama The Captain
Fermin Martinez The Lieutenant
Gerardo Taracena Genaro
Mario Garibaldi Lucio

Technical Credits
Francisco Vargas Director,Editor,Producer,Screenwriter
Matias Barberis Sound/Sound Designer
Natalia Beristian Casting
Martin Boege Cinematographer
Claudio "Pache" Contreras Production Designer
Isabel Cortazar Casting
Ricardo Garfias Editor
Enrique Greiner Sound/Sound Designer
Marco A. Henandez Sound/Sound Designer
Isabel Munoz Sound/Sound Designer
Rafael Ravello Costumes/Costume Designer
Armando Rosas Score Composer
Cuauhtemoc Tavira Score Composer

Scene Index

Disc #1 -- Violin
1. No Fools [7:57]
2. Cantina [8:37]
3. Where is He? [8:53]
4. In the Begining [7:09]
5. a Fair Trade? [9:04]
6. Risks [9:46]
7. Getting Worse [5:41]
8. Checking the Crops [9:28]
9. Lessons [6:59]
10. Harvest [5:57]
11. Ambush [14:51]
12. Credits [4:04]

Customer Reviews