Francesca Annis
Director: David Lynch Cast: Francesca Annis
Francesca Annis
, Leo Cimino
Leo Cimino
, Brad Dourif
Brad Dourif
David Lynch

DVD (Wide Screen)

$7.99 $9.99 Save 20% Current price is $7.99, Original price is $9.99. You Save 20%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


David Lynch's stylish, flawed Dune was a controversial movie upon release for many fans of the Frank Herbert novel from which it was adapted. By the time of this DVD release, the controversy had pretty much faded away, allowing Dune to be viewed as more of a campy, cult-classic sci-fi film. The picture and sound quality of the DVD transfer are both superb. The 2.35:1 widescreen presentation consistently impresses via the rich colors of Lynch's bold visuals, the stunning cinematography of Freddie Francis, and Carlo Rambaldi's bizarre creature effects. The Dolby Digital Sound is quite rich and always aurally interesting. Supplemental materials don't provide much of interest. The production notes could just as easily and successfully have been included in the liner notes for the DVD; they only amount to about ten paragraphs of straightforward information. The cast and filmmaker bios are standard biographical filmographies. The theatrical trailer is interesting, but its sound and video quality isn't up to the presentation quality of the movie itself. The liner notes claim the DVD includes a "Film Highlights" feature, but that feature doesn't seem to be accessible from any menu. It's possible the notes are actually referring to the "Chapter List" menu, which allows direct scene access. It should be noted that some fans prefer the longer, edited-for-television version of this production, though David Lynch disowned it in classic Alan Smithee fashion; that version is not included on this DVD edition. Dune still makes for a highly entertaining DVD, if one isn't expecting anything more than the movie itself.

Product Details

Release Date: 03/31/1998
UPC: 0025192018428
Original Release: 1984
Rating: PG-13
Source: Universal Studios
Region Code: 1
Presentation: [Wide Screen]
Sound: [Dolby Digital Surround, Dolby Digital 5.1 Surround]
Time: 2:17:00
Sales rank: 325

Cast & Crew

Performance Credits
Francesca Annis Lady Jessica
Leo Cimino The Baron's Doctor
Brad Dourif Piter De Vries
José Ferrer Padishah Emperor Shaddam IV
Linda Hunt Shadout Mapes
Kyle MacLachlan Paul Atreides
Jürgen Prochnow Duke Leto Atreides
Fred Jones Thufir Hawat
Richard Jordan Duncan Idaho
Virginia Madsen Princess Irulan
Silvana Mangano Rev. Mother Ramallo
Everett McGill Stilgar
Kenneth McMillan Baron Vladimir Harkonnen
Jack Nance Nefud
Sian Phillips Reverend Mother Gaius Helen Mohiam
Paul Smith The Beast Rabban
Patrick Stewart Gurney Halleck
Sting Feyd-Rautha
Dean Stockwell Dr. Wellington Yueh
Max von Sydow Dr. Kynes
Alicia Witt Alia
Sean Young Chani
Daniel Bryan Corkill Honorato Magalone
Jane Jenkins Actor
Judd Omen Molly Wyrn
Honorato Magaloni Otheym

Technical Credits
David Lynch Director,Screenwriter
Eric Bergren Screenwriter
Maggie Cartier Casting
Dino de Laurentiis Executive Producer
Raffaella de Laurentiis Producer
Giannetto De Rossi Makeup
Christopher de Vore Screenwriter
Giorgio Desideri Set Decoration/Design
James Devis Cinematographer
Frederick Elmes Cinematographer
Brian Eno Score Composer
Benjamin Fernandez Art Director
Freddie Francis Cinematographer
Antony Gibbs Editor
Jane Jenkins Casting
Daniel Lanois Score Composer
Steve Maslow Sound/Sound Designer
Tony Masters Production Designer
Barry Nolan Special Effects
Marty Paich Score Composer
Carlo Rambaldi Special Effects
Bob Ringwood Costumes/Costume Designer
José Lopez Rodero Associate Producer,Asst. Director
Brian Smithies Special Effects
Nelson Stoll Musical Direction/Supervision,Sound/Sound Designer
Toto Score Composer
Kit West Special Effects
Albert J. Whitlock Special Effects
Rudolph Wurlitzer Screenwriter

Scene Index

Side #1 --
0. Chapter List
1. A Very Delicate Time (Main Titles) [:20]
2. The Guild Navigator'S Orders [5:18]
3. House Atreides [2:35]
4. House Harkonnen [2:22]
5. The Conqueror Worm [6:07]
6. The Harkonnen Attack [7:18]
7. The Fremen [6:26]
8. The Weirding Way [1:32]
9. The Worm Conqueror [8:00]
10. The Coming Of Muad Dib [9:49]
11. The Water Of Life [8:22]
12. Wormsign [6:48]
13. The Descending Storm [8:18]
14. Alia The Avenger [7:55]
15. The Last Harkonnen [4:22]
16. The Word Of God (End Titles) [8:14]

Customer Reviews