James Bell
Director: Allan Dwan Cast: James Bell
James Bell
, Walter Brennan
Walter Brennan
, Dean Jagger
Dean Jagger
Allan Dwan

DVD (Black & White)

View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Tuesday, June 22


Allan Dwan directs the family-oriented drama Driftwood, starring nine-year-old Natalie Wood. Orphan Jenny Hollingsworth (Wood) is found in a rural small town in Nevada that is ravaged by Rocky Mountain fever. She meets the local doctor, Steve Webster (Dean Jagger), who is working on a research project. Steve plans on leaving the girl with his girlfriend, Susan Moore (Ruth Warrick), while he goes to San Francisco to do research. However, {Jenny's dog attacks a little boy and gets taken away by Sheriff Bolton (James Bell). Jenny develops Rocky Mountain fever from the dog and gets deathly ill. Also starring Walter Brennan as Murph, Charlotte Greenwood as Mathilda, and Jerome Cowan as Mayor Snyder.

Product Details

Release Date: 11/21/2017
UPC: 0738329217204
Original Release: 1947
Rating: NR
Source: Kl Studio Classics
Region Code: 1
Presentation: [B&W]
Sound: [Dolby Digital Stereo]
Time: 1:28:00
Sales rank: 38,846

Special Features

Audio commentary by film historian Jeremy Arnold; Trailer gallery

Cast & Crew

Performance Credits
James Bell Sheriff Bolton
Walter Brennan Murph
Dean Jagger Dr. Steve Webster
Hobart Cavanaugh Judge Beckett
Natalie Wood Jenny
Howland Chamberlain Hiram Trumbell
Francis Ford Abner Green
Charlotte Greenwood Mathilda
Teddy Infuhr Lester Snyder
James Kirkwood Rev. MacDougal
Alan Napier Dr. Adams
Ray Teal Perkins
H.B. Warner Rev. Hollingsworth
Ruth Warrick Susan
Ellen Corby Actor
Jerome Cowan Mayor Snyder
Margaret Hamilton Essie Keenan

Technical Credits
Allan Dwan Director,Producer
John Alton Cinematographer
Frank Arrigo Art Director
Cy Feuer Score Composer,Musical Direction/Supervision
Mary Loos Screenwriter
Theodore Lydecker Special Effects
Howard Lydecker Special Effects
Arthur Roberts Editor
Richard Sale Screenwriter

Scene Index

Disc #1 -- Driftwood
1. Chapter 1 [7:09]
2. Chapter 2 [10:25]
3. Chapter 3 [8:24]
4. Chapter 4 [10:25]
5. Chapter 5 [9:46]
6. Chapter 6 [12:47]
7. Chapter 7 [16:03]
8. Chapter 8 [13:14]

Customer Reviews