Don't Come Knocking

Don't Come Knocking

Sam Shepard
Director: Wim Wenders Cast: Sam Shepard
Sam Shepard
, Jessica Lange
Jessica Lange
, Tim Roth
Tim Roth
Wim Wenders

DVD (Wide Screen)

12 New & Used Starting at $1.99


Director Wim Wenders and writer Sam Shepard, who collaborated on the award-winning film Paris, Texas, once again join forces for this dark drama of a man trying to turn over a new leaf late in life. Howard Spence (Sam Shepard) is a veteran actor who has been a popular Western star since the mid-'70s. Spence's onscreen image as a strong, principled lawman is a severe contrast to his life off the set, which has been dominated by drinking, drugs, and promiscuous womanizing. However, Spence has begun to find his hedonistic life a shallow existence, and one day, in the midst of filming his latest movie, he simply hops on his horse and rides away, eventually making his way to the small Nevada town where his mother lives. Mother (Eva Marie Saint) has little interest in seeing her wayward son after so many years, but she does share a recently discovered bit of information with him -- one of Spence's former girlfriends stopped by with word that she had given birth to his son years before. Spence borrows his father's old car and drives to Butte, MT, where he finds Doreen (Jessica Lange), the woman who was his lover years ago. Doreen runs a tavern where her son, Earl (Gabriel Mann), plays for the locals with his rock band; Spence is in fact Earl's father, but the young man has no interest in meeting his biological father, and shuts out Spence as the actor tries to get to know him. As Spence struggles to find some sort of familial connection in Butte, he makes friends with a young woman named Sky (Sarah Polley), only to discover she was also fathered by him during his rowdy younger days. Don't Come Knocking's distinguished supporting cast includes Tim Roth, George Kennedy, Fairuza Balk, Julia Sweeney, and Tim Matheson.

Product Details

Release Date: 08/08/2006
UPC: 0043396117228
Original Release: 2005
Rating: R
Source: Sony Pictures
Region Code: 1
Presentation: [Wide Screen]
Sound: [Dolby Digital 5.1 Surround]
Time: 1:51:00

Special Features

Wim Wenders audio commentary; New York premiere featurette; Sundance featurette; Interview with Wim Wenders and Eva Marie Saint

Cast & Crew

Performance Credits
Sam Shepard Howard Spence
Jessica Lange Doreen
Tim Roth Sutter
Gabriel Mann Earl
Sarah Polley Sky
Fairuza Balk Amber
Eva Marie Saint Howard's Mother
James Gammon Old Ranch Hand
George Kennedy Director
Marley Shelton Starlet
Rodney A. Grant Wild Eye
Tim Matheson Producer #1
Julia Sweeney Producer #2
Kurt Fuller Mr. Daily
James Roday First AD
Majandra Delfino Second Girl
Marieh Delfino First Girl

Technical Credits
Wim Wenders Director,Executive Producer,Original Story
Nathan Amondson Production Designer
Karsten Brunig Producer
William Budge Art Director
T-Bone Burnett Score Composer
Caroline Eselin-Schaeffer Costumes/Costume Designer
Lee In-Ah Producer
Claude Letessier Sound/Sound Designer
Heidi Levitt Casting
Josef Lieck Asst. Director
Nicole Lobart Art Director
Carsten H.W. Lorenz Co-producer,Executive Producer
Franz Lustig Cinematographer
Matthew Nicolay Sound/Sound Designer
Peter Przygodda Editor
Peter Schwartzkopff Producer
Sam Shepard Original Story,Screenwriter
Jeremy Thomas Executive Producer
Oliver Weiss Editor

Scene Index

Disc #1 -- Don't Come Knocking
1. Lights, Camera, Actor? [3:49]
2. Wardrobe Change [3:23]
3. Some Big Shot [4:56]
4. Adios [4:28]
5. A Place to Rest [4:54]
6. Bachelor Pad [4:40]
7. Going for Some Air [3:42]
8. Too Much Fun [4:46]
9. Don't Be a Stranger [2:45]
10. Cookies and Milk [1:57]
11. Blast to the Past [3:22]
12. Full of Ghosts [3:47]
13. Passing Through [3:52]
14. Father Son Meeting [3:38]
15. Catching Up [5:48]
16. Need to Talk [5:25]
17. Private Room [3:17]
18. Estranged Circumstances [3:30]
19. Headwork [3:20]
20. Don't Go Away [3:54]
21. Coward Howard [1:28]
22. Really Made a Mess [4:39]
23. Thank You for Your Time [3:02]
24. Where's Howard [1:42]
25. Lost and Found [3:53]
26. My Children [1:23]
27. Time Is Up [4:13]
28. Always in My Heart [1:27]

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Don't Come Knocking 5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 1 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago