Die Zauberflöte (Royal Opera House)

Die Zauberflöte (Royal Opera House)

Simon Keenlyside
Director: Sue Judd Cast: Simon Keenlyside
Simon Keenlyside
, Dorothea Röschmann
Dorothea Röschmann
, Will Hartmann
Will Hartmann
Sue Judd

DVD (Wide Screen)

View All Available Formats & Editions
Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


From BBC and Opus Arte comes this production of one of the final works of Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart, The Magic Flute. Directed by David McVicar, Die Zauberflöte comes from a 2003 performance of the opera at Covent Garden. The orchestra of the Royal Opera House provides the music under conductor Colin Davis and the cast includes Simon Keenlyside and Dorothea Roschmann.

Product Details

Release Date: 09/23/2003
UPC: 0809478000754
Original Release: 2003
Rating: NR
Source: Bbc / Opus Arte
Region Code: 0
Presentation: [Wide Screen]
Sound: [Dolby Digital Stereo, Dolby Digital 5.1 Surround]
Time: 3:05:00
Sales rank: 14,906

Special Features

Illustrated synopsis of the opera; BBC features looks behind the scenes at this production; Conductor Sir Colin Davis talks about Die Zauberflöte

Cast & Crew

Performance Credits
Simon Keenlyside Papageno
Dorothea Röschmann Pamina
Will Hartmann Tamino
Diana Damrau Queen of the Night
Franz-Josef Selig Sarastro
Ailish Tynan Papagena
Adrian Thompson Monostatos
Gillian Webster First Lady
Christine Rice Second Lady
Yvonne Howard Third Lady
Thomas Allen Speaker of the Temple
Matthew Beale First Priest
Richard van Allan Second Priest
Alan Oke First Man in Armour
Graeme Broadbent Second Man in Armour
Zico Shaker First Boy
Tom Chapman Second Boy
John Holland-Avery Third Boy
Colin Davis Conductor

Technical Credits
Sue Judd Director
Leah Hausman Choreography
Oliver Macfarlane Producer

Scene Index

Side #1 --
1. Overture [7:42]
2. Introduction [6:36]
3. Aria (Papageno) [5:47]
4. Aria (Tamino) [4:41]
5. Aria (Queen of Night) [5:13]
6. Quintet (Tamino, Papageno, the Three Ladies) [6:23]
7. Trio (Pamina, Monostatos, Papageno) [4:08]
8. Duet (Pamino, Papageno) [3:39]
9. Act I Finale [25:15]
2. March of the Priests [6:12]
3. Aria (Sarastro) With Chorus [5:10]
4. Duet (First and Second Priests) [1:22]
5. Quintet (Tamino, Papageno, the Three Ladies) [3:58]
6. Aria (Monostatos) [3:34]
7. Aria (Queen of Night) [4:50]
8. Aria (Sarastro) [7:47]
9. Trio (The Three Boys) [3:03]
10. Aria (Pamina) [4:58]
11. Chorus (The Priests) [3:43]
12. Trio (Pamina, Tamino, Sarastro) [5:40]
13. Aria (Papageno) [5:45]
14. Finale [32:12]
15. Curtain Calls and Credits [5:04]

Customer Reviews