Day After Tomorrow/I, Robot/the Day the Earth Stood Still

Day After Tomorrow/I, Robot/the Day the Earth Stood Still

Director: Alex Proyas, Roland Emmerich, Scott Derrickson
Cast: Dennis Quaid

DVD (Wide Screen)


All of Washington, D.C., is thrown into a panic when an extraterrestrial spacecraft lands near the White House. Out steps Klaatu (Michael Rennie, in a role intended for Claude Rains), a handsome and soft-spoken interplanetary traveler, whose "bodyguard" is Gort (Lock Martin), a huge robot who spews forth laser-like death rays when danger threatens. After being wounded by an overzealous soldier, Klaatu announces that he has a message of the gravest importance for all humankind, which he will deliver only when all the leaders of all nations will agree to meet with him. World politics being what they are in 1951, Klaatu's demands are turned down and he is ordered to remain in the hospital, where his wounds are being tended. Klaatu escapes, taking refuge in a boarding house, where he poses as one "Mr. Carpenter" (one of the film's many parallels between Klaatu and Christ). There the benign alien gains the confidence of a lovely widow (Patricia Neal) and her son, Bobby (Billy Gray), neither of whom tumble to his other-worldly origins, and seeks out the gentleman whom Bobby regards as "the smartest man in the world" -- an Einstein-like scientist, Dr. Barnhardt (Sam Jaffe). The next day, at precisely 12 o'clock, Klaatu arranges for the world to "stand still" -- he shuts down all electrical power in the world, with the exception of essentials like hospitals and planes in flight. Directed by Robert Wise, who edited Citizen Kane (1941) and The Magnificent Ambersons (1942) for director Orson Welles before going on to direct such major 1960s musicals as West Side Story (1961) and The Sound of Music (1965), The Day the Earth Stood Still was based on the story Farewell to the Master by Harry Bates.

Product Details

Release Date: 10/05/2010
UPC: 0024543694687
Original Release: 0000
Source: 20th Century Fox
Region Code: 1
Presentation: [Wide Screen]
Sound: [Dolby Digital Stereo, Dolby Digital 5.1 Surround]
Time: 5:41:00

Special Features

Closed Caption

Cast & Crew

Scene Index

Disc #1 -- Day After Tomorrow
1. Main Titles
2. Giving Way
3. U. N. Conference
4. A Big Drop
5. Old Wounds
6. A Bumpy Ride
7. Bad Omens
8. The Decathlon
9. Too Fast
10. L. A.
11. Worst Case Scenario
12. Mountain of Data
13. New York City
14. Wall of Water
15. The New Ice Age
16. Contact
17. Presidental Briefing
18. A Toast
19. Life of Death
20. Noth and South
21. Hard Choices
22. Warming up
23. A Good Friend Gone
24. The Age of Reason
25. Passing the Torch
26. The View From Space
27. Aboard the Ship
28. Eye of the Storm
29. Promises to Keep
30. The Last Mile
31. Moving Forward
32. End Titles
Disc #2 -- I, Robot
1. Opening Titles
2. Del Spooner
3. Spoonerville
4. The Chase
5. Police Station
6. Dr. Lanning's Hologram
7. Lawrence Robertson
8. Susan Calvin's Tour of USR
9. Sonny
10. Factory Floor
11. Caught
12. The Interrogation
13. The Cafe
14. Lanning's House
15. The End of a Long Day
16. NS-5 Rollout
17. Following Bread Crumbs
18. "You Are Experiencing a Car Accident"
19. One on One
20. The Cavalry Arrives
21. Two Sons
22. Spooner's Past
23. The Bike
24. Sonny's Dream
25. Robertson's Office
26. Shell Game
27. Ghosts in the Machine
28. Father and Son
29. Ambush
30. NS-5s Come On-Line
31. Robot Wars
32. The Back Door
33. The Standoff
34. Viki Level
35. Unauthorized Entry
36. "Save Her!"
37. Reconciliation
38. Sonny's Future
39. End Titles
Disc #3 -- The Day the Earth Stood Still
1. 1928 (Main Titles) [5:23]
2. In Federal Custody [6:27]
3. Impact Location: Manhattan [3:53]
4. The Object Lands [5:37]
5. Shot Down [2:45]
6. Nothing to Fear [4:29]
7. Property of the U.S. Government [2:55]
8. Taking Time to Adapt [2:45]
9. Run! [3:29]
10. You Should Let Me Go [3:49]
11. Observing Human Behavior [2:46]
12. A Huge Risk [3:05]
13. Any Other Ideas? [1:32]
14. To Save the Earth [2:14]
15. An Unreasonable Race [3:17]
16. All Over the World [4:46]
17. The Spheres Ascend [1:39]
18. It's an Ark! [5:38]
19. Not So Different [4:06]
20. On the Brink of Destruction [2:15]
21. In Control [4:34]
22. Eaten Alive! [4:12]
23. Let Me Try [2:18]
24. Everything Is Transformed [3:11]
25. Just Give Us a Chance [:02]
26. At the Precipice [2:12]
27. The Earth Stands Still [5:06]
28. End Titles [3:47]

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews